This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

DH and related complications

Alaskaguy

Alaskaguy Enthusiast

Hello all,

I am a newbie here, and this is my very first post.  So I hope that you can be patient with me as I try to explain my situation.

I have/had been having an increasing problem with an incredibly itchy rash for the past five or six years.  This came on so gradually that I can't even remember exactly when it started, as at first it was merely itching, although it slowly got progressively worse.  But after maybe a year or two of that, there started to appear odd 'bumps' and then rashes in the places where I had been getting itchy, and the itching only got worse.

A few things I noticed about these bumps and rashes was that they would seem to start or flare up suddenly (like in minutes), but fade away very slowly, over days or weeks.  The bumps started showing up in larger and larger groups or clusters, and the skin around and under these clusters started more and more to become red or purplish; this color would turn to purple-brownish after that particular clump of "bumps" subsided, but this color would often last, and only very slowly fade, for many weeks afterward.  I also noticed that most of the clusters of 'bumps', and itchy areas, would appear symmetrically on my body --- for example, if I had an itchy rash forming on the inside of my upper left arm, there would usually be one more or less simultaneously forming on the inside of my upper RIGHT arm as well.