This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Unedible Products

Guest j_mommy

Guest j_mommy

I would like some opinions!!!

I'm newly diagnosed and every dr I've talked to says I do not need to worry about products I'm not ingesting. I work in the healthcare field and deal with Dr's other than my own and they all say that. Do I just have to wait and see how they affect me or do alot of people have problems with unedible products(ie shampoo, soap ect!) Please let me know what you all think!!!! Thanks

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Ursa Major Collaborator

Well, that just shows how ignorant about celiac disease most people in the health field are. If you wash your hands with soap that has wheat germ oil in it, and then eat with your fingers.......glutened. If you wash your hair with shampoo that has gluten, and you get some into your mouth during washing, or touch your hair frequently, same thing. If you use lipstick that contains gluten (and many do) it is inevitable that you ingest some of it while eating. You use lotion containing gluten........ laundry detergent...... whatever...... if you touch it and don't wash your hands a million times a day, you will gluten yourself. Toothpaste that contains gluten is self-evident.

Also, in addition to those problems, I found that gluten containing shampoo and conditioner would make my scalp unbearably itchy and caused rashes on my scalp. When I used soap that had wheat germ oil, I used to have burning eyes a lot, because of rubbing my eyes.

Also, watch for medications and vitamins that contain gluten, a lot of them do.