Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Nikki'smom

What To Look For On Food Labels?

Recommended Posts

Hi all I am very new to this gluten-free eating.

Does any one have a list or a link with a list of what to look for on food labels?

I know the wheat, barley, oats, rye but what else? I know there are things hidden I am sure that I would never suspect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That list is helpful, but doesn't tell the whole story.

1. The Food Allergen Labeling Law now requires any of the 8 main allergens to be clearly listed, and not hidden in flavorings, starch, etc. Wheat is one of the 8 main allergens (but, gluten is not). So, if you don't see wheat listed after "modified food starch-wheat" etc., it doesn't have wheat. It makes life a lot easier to know the sources of starch etc.

2. This is a list of companies that has a policy of clearly disclosing any gluten ingredients, and won't hide them.

Arrowhead Mills, Aunt Nelly's, Balance, Baskin Robbins, Ben & Jerry, Bertoli, Betty Crocker, Blue Bunny, Breyers, Campbells, Cascadian Farms, Celestial Seasonings, ConAgra, Country Crock, Edy's, General Mills, Good Humor, Green Giant, Haagen Daz, Hellman's, Hershey, Hormel, Hungry Jack, Jiffy, Knorr, Kozy Shack, Kraft, Lawry's, Libby's, Lipton, Martha White, Maxwell House, McCormick, Nabisco, Nestle, Old El Paso, Ortega, Pillsbury, Popsicle, Post, Progresso, Ragu, Russell Stover, Seneca Foods, Skippy, Smucker, Stokely's, Sunny Delight, T Marzetti, Tyson, Unilever, Wishbone, Yoplait, Zatarain's.

This list covers many, many products .... so always look at the label on the back to see if the product you are looking at is owned by one of the above companies (like Campbells, ConAgra, Unilever). If you don't see wheat, rye, barley, malt, or oats, then it is safe. Note: Maltodextrin is a confusing term...it is made from corn; in any event that it were to be made from wheat, it would be listed.

Other companies may have FAQ sections on their webpage and address their labeling of gluten, gluten in their products, etc.

In general and in my own opinion, although it is "nice" to have a list of safe products, you can make a better educated decision by relying on your own labeling reading (knowing labeling laws, company policies, info from companies) and then go by other lists. Ingredients and formulations change, so its best to always check the labels, even if you have used it before.

Best of luck.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank youa ll so much! I was looking for a jumping off point and you guys gave it! Thanks!

My sister in law works for Dryer's/Edey's and she gave me a list of their gluten free stuf and since Dryer's is owned by Neslte's she said she would work on getting a list of all the Nestle gluten free produsts for me and their subsiderary companies.

Here is the list and the link! When I get the other lists I will certainly share them!

You can search for gluetin-free ice cream at:

http://www.dreyers.com/flavorfinder/index.asp?b=104

Which shows:

Grand Ice Cream

Almond Praline

Butter Pecan

Cherry Chocolate Chip

Cherry Vanilla

Chocolate

Chocolate Chip

Coffee

Double Vanilla

Dulce de Leche

French Vanilla

Fudge Swirl

Fudge Tracks

Mint Chocolate Chip

Mocha Almond Fudge

Neapolitan

NESTLɮ BABY RUTH

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest andie
That list is helpful, but doesn't tell the whole story.

1. The Food Allergen Labeling Law now requires any of the 8 main allergens to be clearly listed, and not hidden in flavorings, starch, etc. Wheat is one of the 8 main allergens (but, gluten is not). So, if you don't see wheat listed after "modified food starch-wheat" etc., it doesn't have wheat. It makes life a lot easier to know the sources of starch etc.

2. This is a list of companies that has a policy of clearly disclosing any gluten ingredients, and won't hide them.

Arrowhead Mills, Aunt Nelly's, Balance, Baskin Robbins, Ben & Jerry, Bertoli, Betty Crocker, Blue Bunny, Breyers, Campbells, Cascadian Farms, Celestial Seasonings, ConAgra, Country Crock, Edy's, General Mills, Good Humor, Green Giant, Haagen Daz, Hellman's, Hershey, Hormel, Hungry Jack, Jiffy, Knorr, Kozy Shack, Kraft, Lawry's, Libby's, Lipton, Martha White, Maxwell House, McCormick, Nabisco, Nestle, Old El Paso, Ortega, Pillsbury, Popsicle, Post, Progresso, Ragu, Russell Stover, Seneca Foods, Skippy, Smucker, Stokely's, Sunny Delight, T Marzetti, Tyson, Unilever, Wishbone, Yoplait, Zatarain's.

This list covers many, many products .... so always look at the label on the back to see if the product you are looking at is owned by one of the above companies (like Campbells, ConAgra, Unilever). If you don't see wheat, rye, barley, malt, or oats, then it is safe. Note: Maltodextrin is a confusing term...it is made from corn; in any event that it were to be made from wheat, it would be listed.

Other companies may have FAQ sections on their webpage and address their labeling of gluten, gluten in their products, etc.

In general and in my own opinion, although it is "nice" to have a list of safe products, you can make a better educated decision by relying on your own labeling reading (knowing labeling laws, company policies, info from companies) and then go by other lists. Ingredients and formulations change, so its best to always check the labels, even if you have used it before.

Best of luck.

hi

your reference to maltodextrin as a confusing term, is just that. I am new to this diet and just assumed that was off limits.

does that mean Kellogs rice krispies is o.k.? along with alot of other cereals that ingredient is in alot.

Thanx

andie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Malt (not maltodextrin) is generally derived from barley, which has gluten, so malt is not ok.

Maltodextrin, while it has the word "malt" in it, is almost always derived from corn, and is safe. If it were to be derived from wheat, by FDA law, it would have to state that.

Kellogg's Rice Krispies has malt (bad) and does not have maltodextrin (safe).

Ingredients: RICE, SUGAR, SALT, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, MALT FLAVORING (http://www.ricekrispies.com/Cupboard_cereal_detail.aspx?pid=585)

So, no, Rice K's are not gluten free.

There are companies that make gluten free rice krispie equivalent cereals. Erewhon is one company. Search for gluten free crispy rice cereal or gluten free puffed rice cereal, etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...