Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

I have been taking the same type of Calcium supplement for a long time. It's also got added vit. D...it's the Spring Valley brand at wal-mart. Well, recent health issues has finally made something click in my head and I checked the ingredients of my supplements. Well...it's got maltodextrin. I've heard different things on maltodextrin as far as whether it's allowed or not. Does anyone know for sure? I want to find out so I know whether I need to find a different brand or not. If this has been contaminating me everyday twice a day...it would explain a lot. But if not, then I'll have to keep searching. Can anyone tell me whether maltodextrin is gluten-free or not?


Rachel Lyn

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


While maltodextrin is indeed safe, you need to make sure that the suppliment is gluten-free--there are binders and fillers that can contain gluten.

What I would do is call the manufacturer and check. There should be a phone number on the bottle :) I would also check on all medications and suppliments that you take.

BTW, Citrical and Caltrate are both gluten-free.


Patti

"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites