Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ShayFL

New To This And Hungry All Of The Time!

Hi Everyone,

Thank you for being here. :)

Brief rundown on me: 39, 5'3, 118 lbs, Dx Hypothyroid 2 years ago - no antibodies (on Armour), Possible Menier's without hearing loss, Low Vit D - on supplements, B12 was low but is now normal, Low Ferritin - still working on it, Genetic tests show Double Genes - hey I am an overachiever. ;)

I am new to gluten-free. I am on week 4 with no change in my symptoms (neurological - ataxia, Vertiog, PN, Migraine) with the exceptions: I did get my regular mid-cycle migraine but it lasted only 24 hours instead of 48 and it was a 7 on a scale of 10 instead of a 10. And my BM's are down to 2 a day instead of 6. I understand the nerves can take time to heal. So I must be patient.

I am a healthy eater and have been for 12 years. All whole foods with very rarely baked goods made from whole grains. No sugar. Lots of Fruits, Veggies, Lean Meats, Eggs, Sm. amount of beans, Nuts & Seeds mostly raw/sprouted, Brow Rice, Quinoa, Fish. This is my basic diet only now I dont eat whole wheat or any other gluten foods. Im on ALL Gluten free cosmetics, hair and body care including my chapstick. :)

I just got a brand new kitchen that will be 100% gluten-free. All new pots and pans, cooking utensils, blender, grinder....the works!! Not eating out. There will be no cross-contamination if I can help it. Family has agreed to ZERO gluten in the house. I am very lucky!

Now, here is my problem. It was no big deal for me to drop wheat and gluten products. I just added chia, flax, hemp seeds to replace the fiber. BUT this new diet is keeping me STARVING all of the time. I eat and 1 - 2 hours later I am hungry again. I woke up last night at 2 and 5 a.m. with a gnawing stomach. I ate at 2, but refused at 5 and laid there while I ached.