This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

I'm Scared

Poppi

Poppi Enthusiast

I don't want this to be my life. :(

Please excuse the pity party, I'm very new to this gluten-free thing. My Dad has Celiac so I decided to try out a gluten-free diet to see if it would help my laundry list of health problems. It only took 3 days for me to feel better than I've ever felt in my life. My fatigue, nausea, joint pain, depression, constipation, canker sores and migraines are all gone. It really is amazing.

On the other hand I am really scared and upset about having to live like this. I want to travel the world and eat everything I can get my hands on. I want to go back to baking 10 loaves of bread each week and being the go-to person for cakes and special desserts. I want to eat anything, anytime and I can't and that makes me want to scream and cry.

I haven't decided whether to gluten myself for an official diagnosis but I don't think I will since I get really sick even from a few crumbs in the butter dish.

Tell me it gets better, that you get used to the restrictions. I need a little hope and sunshine right now.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

ravenwoodglass Mentor

((((((((((((((((((((((HUGS)))))))))))))))))))))))))

Yes it gets better. You may be a bit emotional right now if you are going through withdrawl but that will pass. There are folks here that do travel and eat out so hopefully they will chime in and give you some reassurance. There are international gluten free dining cards available to take with you when you travel to foreign countries to make things easier.