This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

This Site May Change My Life!

Jmza

Jmza Newbie

I am no doctor.. but I have definitely seen my fair share of them since I was a little girl. I was diagnosed with IBS a few years ago and told to "eat more fiber". That has never sat well with me, especially considering I eat plenty of fiber (in fact, it makes things worse for my constipation), I've tried probiotics and those intestinal muscle relaxers.. none of which have worked. I've also tried logging food, looking for combinations or patterns.. NOTHING. Well.. I never thought about gluten!

I just made an appointment with a new GI doctor I found listed on this site, hoping he will be willing to run the tests I need to rule this out or confirm celiac disease is my ailment. Here's a bit of my track record:

As a little girl, I had very bad constipation, to the point where it would hurt so bad to go, that I refused to try. Doctors recommended intestinal mineral oil and that seemed to help.

A little later, still a young girl, I developed a "fungus-like" or "eczema-like" rash on my hands, which migrated to my feet. I continued to have this rash on my feet for years. Doctors were puzzled and gave me cortisone cream for the itch. I itched until I was raw =(. Eventually, it just sort of got better? No real reason for its departure.. but I occasionally have a dime sized recurrance on my feet, that goes away pretty quickly. After reading this forums, I looked up DH and I am blown away! It's identical!!