Jump to content
  • Sign Up
BlessedMommy

Buying Beverages From A Restaurant

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

So, I know that many have said that they will sometimes eat before going to a restaurant or bring their own sandwich and just order a drink or something. How do you determine if the drinks are safe or not? Do you ask for an ingredient list from the restaurant for the drinks? I've heard of people being glutened by just about everything on the sun, so I'm not ruling drinks off the list.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess you do your research ahead of time and check menus online, etc.  but most soft-drinks are gluten-free.  Distilled alcohol is gluten-free.  Don't go overboard with the worry either.  If your child touched a wrapped stick of butter like you posted before, just wash it off..it's ok to use.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, it wasn't a wrapped stick of butter. My kid actually put his hand directly on the unwrapped butter when the butter dish was sitting on the counter.

 

I don't drink alcohol and rarely drink soft drinks. I'm guessing that plain fruit juice (orange, tomato, etc.) should be okay. Probably for more complicated stuff than that, I should check ingredients.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I order whatever makes me happy to drink at restaurants. I have a phone with internet so I can check while I'm there on an ingredient list. If I want a milkshake, I ask them to clean the stirry thing that they mix it with before making mine. If I'm not eating I usually go for the more expensive and fancy drinks on the menu. I always make sure to know that what I'm getting is safe (based on ingredients) but I attempt to be as reasonable and friendly as possible with the staff and not be overly paranoid. It's a drink, not french fries or food off a grill where buns may go or something else that may require serious questioning.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just drink coffee when I'm out. Regular in the daytime, decaf at night. Depending on the restaurant you might also be able to get bottled water or "sparkling water" (seltzer).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I used to be a bartender, so I know how much beer they get on their hands. I usually ask them if they would please wash their hands before handling my glass.

 

At least one veggie juice I know of contains "grain vinegar." I don't know if that's really considered a problem, but I didn't realize it was in there when I drank it and got symptoms and couldn't figure out why. I went back and looked at the label, and suspect that may have been the cause. I don't know for sure, though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use straws...well except for coffee cups with handles.

My husband was actually more worried about staff with gluten covered paws handling my drinks...i like him to enjoy his meals when we dine out and not worry about me....so I use straws :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you just have to use a lot of common sense.  I don't know of any soft drinks that contain gluten, fruit and veggies drinks would be considered safe.  If you have a question choose water, coffee or wine.  The less ingredients that are in something the better you chances of being safe!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...