Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

eeyor_fan

gluten-free Product Updates

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I've realized that I cannot depend on anything 100%, but myself, in getting well so I've emersed myself in contacting companies so I can actually see responses rather than just depending on other people's pre composed lists. Here are some responses I've gotten in the last couple days. Hope it helps you too!

Cheers ;)

Bridget

***********************************************************

Thank you for contacting The Coca-Cola Company. We are able to confirm that Coca-Cola classic, caffeine free Coca-Cola classic, Coca-Cola C2, Diet Coke, Diet Coke with Lemon, Diet Coke with Lime, caffeine free Diet Coke, Sprite, Sprite ReMix Berryclear, Diet Sprite Zero, vanilla Coke, diet vanilla Coke, cherry Coke, Fresca, and our 100% juice products (without added ingredients) are gluten free. Additionally, we can tell you that all of our other products meet Codex's definition of gluten-free, which is currently less than 200 ppm (parts per million) (0.02%) gluten. Codex is in the process of reviewing this standard and we are monitoring the progress closely. At this time the U.S. Food and Drug Administration does not have a regulatory definition of gluten-free. We can assure you that the exact amount of gluten in these products is very low - perhaps even zero. Some minor ingredients in these products are manufactured from plants that gluten-sensitive people could react to, so we are unable to state categorically that they are totally gluten-free even though they may have undetectable levels of gluten in them. The Codex guideline provides a very low threshold for gluten content. However, extremely gluten-sensitive individuals should discuss consumption of these products with their health care provider. We hope that this information is helpful. Should you have additional questions or comments, please visit our website again.

Robin Industry and Consumer Affairs The Coca-Cola Company

****************************************************************************************

Thank you for your e-mail regarding Blistex products that are Gluten-Free. We are pleased to attach a listing of our products that are Gluten-Free. We thank you for this opportunity to serve you and if we can be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.

Ed Mahay

Supervisor, Customer Service

Blistex Inc.

1800 Swift Drive

Oak Brook, IL 60523

Phone: 1-888-784-2472 x3218

Fax: 1-888-784-2473

Email: emahay@blistex.com

PRODUCT NAME FORMULA NUMBER Blistex Lip Ointment 066-9920 Fruit Smoothies (Orange Cream) 014-9809 Blistex Lip Balm Mint 017-9608R Blistex Lip Balm Berry 030-9713R Blistex Medicated Lip Balm 030-9822R Fruit Smoothies Melon Medley 031-9885 Fruit Smoothies Triple Tropical 031-9887 Fruit Smoothies Peaches & Cream 063-9898 Blistex Lip Balm Herbal Answer 069-9871 Blistex Lip Tone Color-Phase 075-9847 Complete Moisture 079-9877 Fruit Smoothies Strawberry/Banana 082-9891 Blistex Lip Tone (U.S.) 099-9872 Silk & Shine 100-9879 Fruit Smoothies Berry Explosion 100-9881 Clear Advance 101-9888 ProCare 112-9894 ProRelief 112-9895 Blistex Lip Balm Ultra Protection SPF 30117-9862 Blistex Spa effects Grapefruit/ Rosemary/Eucalyptus Uplifting 123-9806 Blistex Spa effects Cucumber Melon Renewing123-9807 Blistex Spa effects Plum Vanilla Relaxing123-9808 DCT-SPF-20 094-9535 Lip Medex 073-8407R Lip Revitalizer 039-9946 Herbal Answer Gel 060-9949

*******************************************************************

GENERAL MILLS

Thank you for contacting General Mills regarding gluten in our products.

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing, so we want to assure you if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the product’s ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information.

We hope this information is helpful.

Sincerely,

Amy Metzger

General Mills

Consumer Services

Note: This is a form letter, General Mills owns Betty Crocker and I got exact same letter from Betty Crocker rep. Melissa Clooney.

*******************************************************************

From: Heinz www.heinz.com

Gluten-Free Products

Where can I find gluten-free products?

Heinz Ketchup does not contain any gluten (the distilled vinegar used is from corn sources). Also, Wine Vinegar, Distilled White Vinegar and Apple Cider Vinegar are gluten-free. Please note that Heinz Organic Ketchup and Apple Cider Flavored Vinegar are not gluten-free.

Heinz Hot & Spicy Ketchup Kick'rs is gluten-free as well. As for our other Heinz products, we are not able to guarantee that all ingredients would be gluten-free, since the source of an ingredient may change from time to time. We understand how difficult it can be finding foods that meet the requirements of a restricted diet, and we continue to look for ways to meet the dietary needs of our consumers.

Is EZ Squirt gluten-free?

Yes, as Heinz Tomato Ketchup is gluten-free

************************************************************************

SNAPPLE

Thank you for contacting us about the presence of gluten in our Snapple products. Consumer inquiries such as this are appreciated because they provide valuable feedback about our brands. Gluten is a mixture of complex proteins found in the grain of wheat, barley, oats, rye, rice, corn, and other grains. All of our Snapple products are gluten free. We appreciate your inquiry and hope you will continue to enjoy our Snapple products. For more information about our company, please visit us on the web at www.snapple.com. Sincerely, Consumer Relations

***********************************************************

RE: a Tropicana Product , REF.# 025526897A Hello Bridget: Thank you for contacting us. We recognize that it is important to provide consumers with information so that they can make informed choices about the products they purchase. Consumers with Celiac Sprue Disease should only use Pure Premium orange juice, grapefruit juice and apple juice which are gluten-free juices. Juices/beverages with "natural flavors" should be avoided as we cannot guarantee they are gluten free. We recommend that you consult with a physician and get a recommendation before trying these beverages. We hope this information is helpful. Theresa

**************************************************************

Scope

Response (Mary Lee) - 11/14/2005 03:15 PM Hi Bridget, I have some good news. No version of Scope contains gluten. Hope this helps. Mary Lee Scope Team P.S. Have you heard about the recent addition to the Crest product line? It's Glide Dental Floss, the #1 recommended brand of dental floss by US dental professionals. It's designed to slide easily between your teeth and resists shredding. Hope you'll look for it the next time you shop.

**********************************************************

GatorAde

RE: Gatorade Thirst Quencher , REF.# 025526899A Hello Bridget: Thank you for visiting the Gatorade website. Gatorade products (Thirst Quencher, Endurance Formula, Energy Drink, Nutrition Shake and Propel Fitness Water) are all gluten free. We understand that individuals sensitive to gluten cannot digest even trace amounts and are concerned about its presence in the products they select. We always try to consider these concerns when developing Gatorade products. We hope this information is helpful. Michael

*******************************************************************

SOBE

A Message from Consumer Relations 010689022A Hello Bridget, Thank you for taking the time to email us here at SoBe Beverages. It's always a pleasure to hear from lizard lovers like yourself. We are happy to provide information on any of our ingredients. Here at SoBe we use only the finest ingredients to make our products. To guarantee consistent quality, each ingredient must pass our high standards, rigorous quality control tests and strict bottling procedures. All of our ingredients are safe for consumption and approved for use in beverages. In response to your question, All SoBe products are GLUTEN FREE. Again, thank you for contacting us. We appreciate your interest in our company. Jessica Sandri Consumer Relations Specialist jsandri@lizmail.com 010689022A

**************************************************************

DelMonte

November 14, 2005

Dear Bridget,

Thanks for visiting our Del Monte website and for your email.

The following list includes Del Monte branded products that, to the

best of our knowledge, do not contain wheat, oats, rye or barley/malt

ingredients. Please be aware this list may change or not be complete due to

formula changes or new product introductions. It's always best to check

the ingredient statement on the label for the most current information.

DEL MONTE GLUTEN-FREE PRODUCTS

- Canned/Jarred Fruits

- Fruit Snack Cups (Metal and Plastic)

- Canned Vegetables (except Del Monte Savory Sides Green Bean

Casserole)

- Tomatoes & Tomato Products (except Spaghetti Sauce Flavored with

Meat)

- 100% Fruit Juices

You can also periodically check the FAQ section on our website for

updated information at http://www.delmonte.com/Answers

Thanks again for contacting us. If we can be of more help, please call

us at 1-800-543-3090, Monday through Friday 9:00 am to 5:00 pm Eastern

Time, or visit our website anytime at www.delmonte.com.

Krista, Del Monte Consumer Affairs

consumeraffairs@delmonte.com

Del Monte. Nourishing families. Enriching lives.

When contacting us, please refer to the following reference number:

004002371A

*******************************************************************

Tilamook Cheese

Dear Bridget: Thank you for your e-mail asking if Tillamook dairy products are gluten free. You will be happy to hear that all of our cheese, yogurt, butter, and sour cream products are gluten free, as are most of our Ice Cream flavors. Ice cream flavors listing any ingredients such as pie, cookie dough, cake, etc. will contain gluten. The following is a list of Tillamook Ice Cream flavors that do contain gluten: Caramel Toffee Crunch, Cookies and Cream, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, German Chocolate Cake, and Marionberry Pie. I hope this information is helpful. Sincerely, Ronald R. Cottor Customer Service

***************************************************************

FROM PEPSI www. PepsiCo.com November 13, 2005

There is no gluten in any soft drink produced by Pepsi-Cola Company in North America. Although high fructose corn syrup is derived from corn, the technology used in making this sweetener completely removes the protein fractions, leaving no residuals in the finished sweetener.

*************************************************************

Martinelli Apple Juice Products

www.Martinellis.com

Q: Are Martinelli's products gluten-free?

A: Yes, all of the products that Martinelli's manufactures are gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the info Bridge! Martinelli makes the best apple juice!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest nini

Thank you SOOOOOOO much for posting this info! Some of the products on there I wasn't sure about so I have just been avoiding them!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
FROM PEPSI www. PepsiCo.com November 13, 2005

Although high fructose corn syrup is derived from corn, the technology used in making this sweetener completely removes the protein fractions, leaving no residuals in the finished sweetener.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Doesn't this statement just prove that Pepsi don't actually know what the hell gluten is?!

:blink:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Doesn't this statement just prove that Pepsi don't actually know what the hell gluten is?!

:blink:

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Corn has its own form of gluten. Thats why they answered it like that. Celiacs, of course, don't react to corn gluten but some people may have problems with it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No--Pepsi was just listing corn gluten which is not harmful to celiacs. By the way, all Pepsi softdrinks are gluten-free (look at the site Q & A response for gluten).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, there is no gluten in corn. The proteins are simply different, as appropriately noted here: corn info on celiac.com

So, there is no such thing as "corn gluten". This is just one example of the importance of raising awareness, and ensuring that accurate information becomes more widely known.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Top Posters +

  • Upcoming Events

    • April 17, 2019 Until April 27, 2019
      0  
      April 17-27, 2020   For the past few years many of you have asked us to arrange a River Boat Cruise that will allow us to visit Amsterdam's famous Keukenhof Gardens at its prime time of the blossoming of the millions of Tulips and Hyacinths - alongside the windmills of the Netherlands.  With the participation of a minimum of 20 persons we have arranged an All-Inclusive Cruise from Antwerp to Amsterdam.  This cruise will not be offered to the public until January, 2019 and always sells out quickly.   THERE WILL BE NO MONEY REQUIRED NOR COMMITMENT FROM YOU until we have all the final costs and details.  If you are at all interested check out our website for as many of the details that we have as of this time.   We need your request to be placed on a list of interested participants so we can present that number to Uniworld to show we have the sincere interest in this All-Inclusive Bob & Ruth's Gluten-free Cruise.   PLEASE CHECK OUT OUR WEBSITE FOR THE DETAILED INFORMATION THAT WE HAVE AS OF THIS TIME.   http://bobandruths.com
    • April 24, 2019 04:00 PM Until 08:00 AM
      0  
       
       
       
      Celiac Emotional Healing Support Group
       
       
       
      Again you are invited to join Johnny Patout, LCSW for Baton Rouge's first emotional healing support group meeting to assist those living with celiac disease manage the emotional challenges so many of us face. Most often the emotional disturbances include depression, disinterest in normal activities, insomnia, grief, mood changes, anxiety, inability to concentrate, extreme concern about managing a gluten-free lifestyle and other emotional and behavioral challenges.
       
      The professionals at Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center created the emotional healing support group to give us a safe place to begin to process our emotions and support each other as we heal emotionally while managing celiac disease and the resulting autoimmune disorders.
       
      The emotional healing support group meets every Thursday, 6:00-7:00pm, at the Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center of Baton Rouge. Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center is located at 4637 Jamestown Avenue, Baton Rouge, Suite B-1. Suite B-1 is upstairs.
       
      The support group is free and open everyone managing celiac disease. For more information: emotionalhealingforceliacs@hotmail.com
    • May 04, 2019 Until May 05, 2019
      0  
      Nourished Festival is a family-friendly event with 10 locations across the US. Attendees will be able to sample food, health and beauty products, meet with companies, learn about the most current food lifestyles, receive coupons and attend educational sessions with industry experts. 
      Nourished Festival, managed by The Nourished Group and presented by Enjoy Life Foods, is the largest gluten-free, allergy-friendly and specialty diet event in the US, with 10 locations including.
      ABOUT THE NOURISHED FESTIVALS
      Managed by The Nourished Group, formerly The Gluten Free Media Group, The Nourished Festivals are the largest and fastest growing special diet consumer events in the United States. Started in 2007, the events have expanded from one to ten cities throughout the country. The festivals cater to anyone looking to lead a healthier lifestyle or those who follow a specialty diet due to autoimmune conditions, food sensitivities, allergies or intolerances. Offerings including Paleo, Keto, Plant-Based, Gluten-Free, Allergen-Friendly and Nut-Free products. The events provide the opportunity for attendees to sample and purchase new products, receive coupons, meet with brand ambassadors and attend educational classes with industry experts. For more information, visit http://www.nourishedfestival.com 
       
×
×
  • Create New...