Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

sparkles

Kraft Foods

Recommended Posts

I know that Kraft lists wheat on their ingredient labels but what about gluten from rye, barley, and oats. I am trying to be totally gluten-free and was thrilled to see that I could add Kraft to my "maybe..check the label" food list. But I got to thinking about it, as symptoms seem to be returning, and I am wondering if Kraft products that do not list wheat are just WHEAT FREE but not GLUTEN FREE.... I have noticed some products saying that they are WHEAT FREE but am leery as I understand the disease, one needs to avoid gluten from rye, barley and oats..... Any help here would be appreciated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have always understood that Kraft will list barley, rye, wheat and oats. I use Kraft products all the time. Read the label. I have not had any problems with any of their products. Could you be having other food intolerences?

Hez

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, call me crazy, but that still makes me nervous.

I had heard that Kraft barbeque sauce is gluten free, went to buy some last night, and don't you know one of the ingredients is modified food starch! If it's corn starch, why can't they just come out and say it?

I got scared and didn't buy it, but I'd kill for barbeque sauce! Plain chicken is so boring!

Gah!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Food Starch and Modified Food Starch: When listed in the ingredient statement of Kraft products, “food starch” and “modified food starch” often refer to corn starch. Our ingredient suppliers assure us that the corn starch we use in our products does not contain gluten. If a Kraft product uses food starches from a gluten- containing source, such as wheat starch, the source will always be identified in the ingredient statement.

In otherwords its corn unless they say its not. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest nini

I use Kraft BBQ sauces, but I prefer Annie's Natural's BBQ sauces, the ones that are clearly labled gluten free. I have this thing about supporting companies that clearly label their products!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I trust Kraft foods. In fact I would say that 70% of the prepackaged foods I buy are Kraft food products. The only problem I ever had with them involved Breyer's yogurt. I had called the # on the package from the grocery store and the lady answered Kraft foods. I told her that she had already anwered my question since I knew that Kraft listed gluten in their labels. That was on a Friday, on Saturday I ate the yogurt and got sick (from something, not neccessarily the yogurt) I tried to call, but since it was Saturday they were closed. I looked online and found that Breyer's, while owned by Kraft, is a Canadian company (and actually the package the yogurt was in didn't say Kraft anywhere). I also found a statement from Breyer's online saying that they could not assure that their products were gluten-free (I don't know how old that statement was though). I never got around to calling Kraft to work it out on Monday. I still eat anything that has the Kraft name on it and doen't list the forbiden ingredients, but I stay away from Breyer's yogurt ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hey Al,

I've used Kraft BBQ sauce with no problems - even now, if you can believe it. i purchased the plain version.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My opinion -- Kraft is very trustworthy as far as listing ingredients and I've heard very few complaints about CC. However, any company that makes various processed foods always has a chance of CC. That's just life. Still, I don't heistate to use Kraft foods and to trust their labeling.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...