Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

lapetit8

Updated - Starbucks Information

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Recently, someone had posted on the board that Starbucks products containing "mocha" were not gluten free. I decided to contact the company to find out exactly which drinks were gluten free and which ones were not gluten free.

The products that are NOT gluten free are only the Frappucinos that contain Java Chips, Vanilla Powder, and/or Malt Powder.

All of the drinks that I specifically asked about are gluten free and that includes:

Vanilla Mocha Latte (I'm assuming this does not contain Vanilla Powder then since they said it is gluten-free?)

Hot Chocolate

Chantico

Banana Coconut Frappucino

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Recently, someone had posted on the board that Starbucks products containing "mocha" were not gluten free. I decided to contact the company to find out exactly which drinks were gluten free and which ones were not gluten free.

The products that are NOT gluten free are only the Frappucinos that contain Java Chips, Vanilla Powder, and/or Malt Powder.

All of the drinks that I specifically asked about are gluten free and that includes:

Vanilla Mocha Latte (I'm assuming this does not contain Vanilla Powder then since they said it is gluten-free?)

Hot Chocolate

Chantico

Banana Coconut Frappucino

Thank you very much for this information - I actually went in and asked if the White chocolate mocha was ok before, after suspecting it had made me ill, and they even showed me the boxes, which were definitely ok. I didnt realsie I was taking a perfectly safe drink and spirnkling harmful vanilla powder over it afterwards :rolleyes: . Feel very stupid now... :ph34r: Thanks for clearing that up though, I'll remember that for next time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Vanilla Mocha Latte (I'm assuming this does not contain Vanilla Powder then since they said it is gluten-free?)

They use the syrup in the lattes.

Thanks for the info.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, it's in a lot of their drinks, including the mocha, the carmel macchiato, vanilla latte, etc., so if it had gluten, they would have said so... I'm sure I checked it out before I used it but I don't remember ... there is a lifelong celiac who works at my Starbucks and she's never corrected me on it and one day she thought she overheard me order a cookie (I didn't) and she came over to tell me not to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...