Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

oceangirl

Sugar Users: Which Brands Do You Use?

Recommended Posts

Hello Everyone,

If you eat sugar could you tell me which brands are gluten-free and safe? I have been using a Raw sugar (Turbinado) which doesn't say it's gluten-free but has only that ingredient. I have been reacting to SOMETHING horribly for two weeks and can't find what it is. ( I have a detailed food log for over a year and a half now.) I've been eating this for a year and have had a fairly good year, but ...

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated.

lisa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Hi Lisa,

I stick with Domino's--they claim that all of their sugars are gluten-free, and I've not had a problem with any of the ones I've used. I use the white, light and dark brown, and confectioner's.

Hope you can figure out your culprit :)


Patti

"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just another vote for the Domino's--it's the only brand I use, and I use all of their varieties.

I hope you can figure out what's bothering you!


*Julie*

Gluten free since December 2004

Soy free since June 2005

Dairy free since July 2006

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's highly unlikely that a TRUE sugar - of any kind, any brand - is the culprit, IF it is just 100% sugar (sucrose, fructose, glucose, etc) bought in the U.S. Blends of stuff are a different story because "sweeteners" include lots of starches including malts and barley, etc.

I am not familair with the brand you are talking about. I just did a little research about "Turbinado" sugar - and it's a way of processing regular sugar cane - "Sugar in the Raw" is turbinado. It is truly just another form of pure sucrose, and not a problem - does not contain Gluten.

BUT, I took a look at Clan Thompson's Food Smart List and discovered some interesting things:

Domino's Confectioners Sugar contains 3% Starch (CORN starch!!).

Other brands of "Powdered and Confectionary" sugars contain starch as well, some labeled and reported as being derived from CORN. (THAT MEANS THAT YOU HAVE TO WATCH CONFECTIONERS AND POWDERED SUGAR!!!!)

Hope you can figure it out - it's probably not the sugar.


Franceen

Diagnosed DH by Allergist via gluten-free Diet Success

Gluten-free since Dec 2005

Gluten-free works so why keep getting tests?

Neg skin biopsy & Neg bloodwork after gluten-free for 3 months

No Endoscopy - need to eat gluten for good test & won't do it

No other Allergies or major ailments!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

Thank you all very much for posting. I am suspecting it's something else. I did put egg back in recently and think I reacted badly to that, but it seems that should be over with by now as that was a week ago. I continue the search. Patti, I think I'll switch to Domino's for awhile just to see...

Thank you again!

lisa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use Sugar in the Raw for my teas and such.

I use Domino or Wegmans for regular sugar when I bake.


~~~~Gluten Free since 9/2004~~~~~~

Friends may come and go but Sillies are Forever!!!!!!!

36_22_10[1].gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites