This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Just Diagnosed.

006 Apprentice

I'm new to this forum and unfortunatley, I am new to Celiac Disease... Well, the new part is that I just found out. I understand this has probably been with me all my life. I am 45. I never had one symptom. Sure, I haven't been able to gain weight, but I'm hyperactive and burning calories just from my personality. Yeah, I get fatigued at times, but I also lift weights like a nut. Yes, my strength has slowly declined over the years, but I'm not 22 anymore. I never had any aches, acid, diareah, vomiting, weight-gain, bloating... nothing. Some of you may suggest that my aforementioned observations are symptoms.

It has been only a week and I am really struggling with this. I have a huge appetite and I love to eat. (I know; some of you will say my appetite is a symptom). I walked by an incredible selection of Chinese food at a new Wegman's and thought I was going to start sobbing. It didn't get any better when I passed the bakery, deli and other incredible looking areas.... all on the way to my gluten-free section. Sorry guys, but it feels like a sentence to hell; especially when I hear of pocket pamphlets for cooks at restaurants with very precise instructions on how to cook my order.

I realize that I must be strict and deal with this. But I must admit, the hidden gluten thing is killing me... figuratively and potentially, literally.

How the hell do I cope? I have already made a number of major changes and I'm eating the same two or three meals every day as I'm freaked out over cross-contamination, hidden gluten, etc.