This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Please Help! Self Diagnosed Myself With Celiac Disease

MomOf2PrettyGirls

MomOf2PrettyGirls Rookie

Hello there. This is my first time posting to this site. I've read quite a bit over the passed couple of weeks, but never posted. I decided to share my story and see if I could get some help.

I'm 22 years old. Mom of two little girls. 3 year old and 7 month old. My pregnancy with my second daughter was amazing. I felt healthy and wonderufl(other than acid indigestion, which is to be expected during pregnancy) However, after she was born, I went through a great deal of stress. I was hospitalized for Mastitis when she was a week old.

Then about three weeks after that I started experiencing awful upper stomach pains. They felt like a dull, gnawing ache. I felt like I needed to eat to resolve the pain, but then again it hurt after I ate too. Then a different pain in my upper right quadrant, that was like a stabbing. I have been in the ER about 6 times since she was born and to my General Practicioner about 8 times. The ER doctors kept saying it was anxiety and nothing was wrong with me. My GP thought it was GallBladder related, I had an ultrsound and revealed "gallbladder sludge" so they removed it.

About a month after it was removed, I had the upper middle stomach pain again. Along with acid reflux, heartburn, chest burning sensation. (I was on Omeprazole during all of this too) So, I went back to my GP and he still thought it was an Ulcer. I, however, started researching Celiac Disease and a Gluten Free Diet, but didn't start it just then.