This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Blowing Money On Probiotics?

Pyro

Pyro Enthusiast

I've been using probiotics for probably about two years now, and have seen okay results. But then again can't be sure, because you don't really know what it's like to not take a medicine when you've been taking it constantly. Anyway they seem to at least do something and I'm actually afraid to go without them seeing how awful my gut can be even when using two per day. Along with acidophilus pearls, NOW acid $ bifidus caps (using currently, going back to the pearls), there is also natto which is a kind of rotten soybean covered in stringy snot-like phlegm. This seems to help a great deal, but like the rest is pricey being $1 per dose.

Though after ordering acidophilus pearls, an add came up for Dr. Ohhira's Essential Probiotic formula which is actually even more expensive but has tons and tons of reviews on Lame Advertisement. I'm torn between being jaded from frequently spending too much money on supplements and good food hoping that something will finally help, and being drawn in by the hype that promises to actually reinvent your intestine's countryside.

Does anyone have an opinion on this? Has anyone had great success with Dr. Ohhira's or any probiotic for that matter? I hate having to constantly pay for my own health like this and feel like while probiotics help the companies pull us along for a ride by conveniently selling a high price item that you NEED every day for it to work. True we can make our own, but most of us here are dairy intolerant and can't cultivate the yogurt/sour cream stuff that homemade people usually do.