This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Celiac Literally Shifted My Entire Life

jensey

jensey Apprentice

So I WAS a bakery manager. I had been in the bakery for 22 years, then POOF celiac disease reared it's annoying antibodies. I have been aware that I had celiac for about 16 months now but until about 3 months ago I never considered how much it REALLY threw me off my life plan and I have moments of intense anger about it that I don't know if anyone can understand.

I am going to go ahead and RANT/WHINE FREELY here so read on if you want and if not I TOTALLY UNDERSTAND.

Initially going into the grocery industry I planned to go to college and move onward and upward, but that didn't happen as I found it hard to afford living and paying for school and I wasn't driven enough to look into grants and loans. So I stayed in grocery. It's a solid job with security for sure. Turned out I fell into the bakery department...one of (if not THE) toughest departments in a grocery store. I did well at it. I enjoyed the fast paced environment and the interaction with people. I became a cake decorator and and eventually a bakery manager. It allowed me the opportunity to move to from Las Vegas (with Smith's Grocery) to Eugene, Oregon and succeed as a manager in a different yet great grocery store. I loved the busyness of the department. It enthralled me and constantly challenged me. I was able to buy a house and adopt a wonderful dog.