Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
cassP

Soy Sauce- Not Gluten Free?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

recently i saw a post that suggested that Regular Soy Sauce is actually gluten free. They posted a link to this page: http://www.soya.be/gluten-free-soy-sauce.php

I find this claim to be alarming. If what the author is claiming is true and factual- then that would be incredibly convenient for us- but i seriously do not believe it to be true.

Any thoughts??

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, we use Tamari. I don't know if there is any gluten-free soy sauce but I have not found any.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, we use Tamari. I don't know if there is any gluten-free soy sauce but I have not found any.

I use ordinary La Choy soy sauce. It's not marked "gluten free" but it has no gluten ingredients. I've never reacted to it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you are in Canada, VH soy sauce is gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jade Dragon soy sauce does not have any gluten ingredients: hydrolyzed soybean and corn protein, water, corn syrup, salt, carmel color. We use it for our jerkey and I've not had a reaction yet.

The important thing is to read the ingredients. "Most" soy sauce has wheat in it, but there are a few that don't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

every brand is a little different, la choy has no wheat but extremely high sodium. San-J makes wheat free tamari in a ragular and a low sodium. Braggs liquid aminos is really good and a common substitute for soy sauce in Hawaii.

good luck

ken

recently i saw a post that suggested that Regular Soy Sauce is actually gluten free. They posted a link to this page: http://www.soya.be/g...e-soy-sauce.php

I find this claim to be alarming. If what the author is claiming is true and factual- then that would be incredibly convenient for us- but i seriously do not believe it to be true.

Any thoughts??

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

recently i saw a post that suggested that Regular Soy Sauce is actually gluten free. They posted a link to this page: http://www.soya.be/gluten-free-soy-sauce.php

I find this claim to be alarming. If what the author is claiming is true and factual- then that would be incredibly convenient for us- but i seriously do not believe it to be true.

Any thoughts??

I believe that one test test on that particular batch of soy sauce. It's hardly an adequate sample size to claim safety though. Notice that Kikkoman has developed a gluten-free soy sauce with rice instead of wheat, rather than labeling their normal soy sauce gluten-free. That suggests to me that Kikkoman didn't have confidence that every batch of their soy sauce was going to test <20 ppm gluten.

Cheaper soy sauce is produced by hydrolysis rather than fermentation and IMO it's less likely to be safe.

I use San J tamari and it's really good. I may get a bottle of the new Kikkoman gluten-free to try next if I can find it.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I live in regional north queensland so things probably take a while to get here. We are vegan, my child is coeliac so the whole house is gluten free, and I stop breathing with msg, so read every label before buying and we have no gluten-free soy sauce on the shelves, I have checked lol, I used to make sushi rolls, stir fries, fried rice, rice paper rolls, and used soy sauce for all of them, now use substitutes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

interesting- i did not know that there were so many different brands- and that some of them while not marked gluten free actually didnt use wheat like others. i kind of got into a debate with this girl on another site- cause i found it dangerous for her to suggest that it was safe even tho using wheat... but i guess there are many brands, etc...

also an fyi for all of u- i did NOT know that many japanese restaurants put Wheat filled Soy Sauce into their Ginger salad dressing.... i was having major issues but was attributing it to my putting off my going to the bathroom... cause i sometimes get PAIN when i hold off on going to the bathroom... but now i believe it was the soy sauce in the ginger dressing.. this last sunday i did not get the dressing and i did not have pain.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe that one test test on that particular batch of soy sauce. It's hardly an adequate sample size to claim safety though. Notice that Kikkoman has developed a gluten-free soy sauce with rice instead of wheat, rather than labeling their normal soy sauce gluten-free. That suggests to me that Kikkoman didn't have confidence that every batch of their soy sauce was going to test <20 ppm gluten.

Cheaper soy sauce is produced by hydrolysis rather than fermentation and IMO it's less likely to be safe.

I use San J tamari and it's really good. I may get a bottle of the new Kikkoman gluten-free to try next if I can find it.

We have the Kikkoman brand gluten-free sauce - it's gross. We've started to just put butter on our rice because we don't want to eat the soy sauce. But, we're used to La Choy and that's an entirely different taste.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We have the Kikkoman brand gluten-free sauce - it's gross. We've started to just put butter on our rice because we don't want to eat the soy sauce. But, we're used to La Choy and that's an entirely different taste.

xjrosie, in the U.S., La Choy IS gluten-free. I personally like San-J gluten-free Tamari Sauce myself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

xjrosie, in the U.S., La Choy IS gluten-free. I personally like San-J gluten-free Tamari Sauce myself.

We use the San-J. They have gluten-free flavored sauces, too. I put the Teryaki on green beans after I just boil them. My family gobbles them up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bragg's Amino Acids are another option. They are gluten-free but do have soy in them.

B R A G G L I Q U I D A M I N O S

Ingredients: Our Bragg Liquid Aminos are made from health-giving, NON-GMO soybeans and purified water. They are an excellent, healthy, gourmet replacement for Tamari and Soy Sauce. Not fermented or heated and Gluten-Free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bragg's Amino Acids are another option. They are gluten-free but do have soy in them.

B R A G G L I Q U I D A M I N O S

Ingredients: Our Bragg Liquid Aminos are made from health-giving, NON-GMO soybeans and purified water. They are an excellent, healthy, gourmet replacement for Tamari and Soy Sauce. Not fermented or heated and Gluten-Free.

I love braggs aminos, I am just wondering about MSG in it, it seems like their proccess concentrates naturally accuring MSG in their sauce.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×