This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Skin Care Products - Could A Little Bit Of Gluten Harm Me?

HavaneseMom

HavaneseMom Explorer

Hi All,

I am a newbie and am in the process of trying to change all of my skin care and make up products to Gluten free, especially the products that come in contact with my mouth. I have very sensitive skin, sinuses and eyes and it has literally taken me years to find products that I don't have a reaction to. The problem is that those products may contain gluten :-( .

My facial moisturizer is by Kiehl's and contains Tocopherol. They will not tell me if their Tocopherol source is wheat. They did send me this statement which seems like they are saying that it should not be a problem if it did come from wheat, due to the way they process ingredients. I have never heard anything like this before.

"Thank you for your inquiry concerning gluten in Kiehl's Since 1851 products.

Most ingredients derived from grain sources are highly refined and retain no traces of gluten proteins. For less refined ingredients from natural sources, Kiehl's Since 1851 has established strict limits on the level of potentially allergenic proteins. We believe that this policy minimizes the likelihood of reactions to these proteins in the majority of sensitive individuals. However, since individuals exhibit a wide range of sensitivities to these proteins, if you have any questions or concerns you should discuss with your medical care provider."

My facial cleanser is from Earth Science and they have confirmed that their Tocopherol is sourced from wheat, but the product "contains a very small amount, less than 1%".