Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Celiac.com Sponsor:


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

skelly247

Unintentional Glutening Suspects

Recommended Posts

I was diagnosed about a month ago and have managed to unintentionally gluten myself twice, once with a spaghetti strainer that I thought I cleaned really well and once with foods that have no business having gluten, in my case, barley malt in chocolate as a sweetener.

 

In the interest of avoiding glutening myself (and any new celiacs as well), what are some things that you didn't expect to have gluten in them that actually do (and sorry if this topic already exists, I looked back a few pages and didn't see any similar)?
 

Thanks! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Celiac.com Sponsor:

The good thing is, if we read the ingredients, we will see the gluten ingredient.

Some things people are surprised to find contain gluten-

Cereals like Rice Krispies and cornflakes ( there are gluten-free versions)

Non- gluten-free oats

Licorice

Contadina flavored tomato paste ( Italian herb)

Soy sauce and " Asian" flavors that contain non gluten-free soy sauce

Butterscotch baking chips

Might add to this as I think of others

Adding: I wanted to make sure I was clear- these foods have gluten in them, which surprised me. However, the gluten wheat or malt, is clearly labelled in the ingredients. I just didn't expect to see gluten in them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd have to say I've been more annoyed than surprised.  Just want to reiterate the Celiac mantra... every label, every time.  If I'm unsure about any ingredient I Google it from my phone before I even buy it.  I was actually most surprised that maltodextrin does NOT contain gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd have to say I've been more annoyed than surprised.  Just want to reiterate the Celiac mantra... every label, every time.  If I'm unsure about any ingredient I Google it from my phone before I even buy it.  I was actually most surprised that maltodextrin does NOT contain gluten.

 

yeah, i confused 'barley malt' <GLUTEN with' maltodextrin' <NOT GLUTEN for quite a while :/  the thing i probably googled over and over the most in the beginning lolz

Jam & soymilk were a couple that surprised me.

 

There was a brand of jelly that had wheat glucose syrup in it. Some soymilk is barley malt sweetened.

always be reading your labels :)  pick up box, turn box over, read third ingredient, make disappointed face, turn box back over, return box to shelf lolz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you all so much!

 

The barley malt was in one of those lindor truffles, they were giving away free samples at costco and I didn't even think to check because it was chocolate, why would there be gluten in chocolate....?

 

BlessedMommy, is there really gluten in jams? That's really depressing.....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

BlessedMommy, is there really gluten in jams? That's really depressing.....

i have never seen gluten in jam, but that's why reading the labels is so important.  if it's in the product, they have to list it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Canada Dry Ginger Ale!  Some sites say it contains gluten in the coloring and other sites say it's okay.  I just wish I knew for sure.  It's the only carbonated beverage I drank.

I have never seen a soda with gluten. I drink this sometimes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Canada Dry Ginger Ale!  Some sites say it contains gluten in the coloring and other sites say it's okay.  I just wish I knew for sure.  It's the only carbonated beverage I drank.  

 

What site says "it contains gluten?" I'd like to see their proof. 

 

I would not worry about ginger ale, hon. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The most annoying one for me was GoodBelly's berry flavor, and others, contain barley. Why do they need barley in a fruit juice???

 

For the same reason they feel the need to put high-fructose-corn-syrup in a can of pineapple.  Either we've all gotten so used to eating stuff that is so over-sweetened that we can't taste anything anymore - or the quality of our soil and of our food has gotten so poor that it tastes like crap without a ton of sugar on it. 

:angry:

<getting down off the soapbox>

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Canada Dry Ginger Ale!  Some sites say it contains gluten in the coloring and other sites say it's okay.  I just wish I knew for sure.  It's the only carbonated beverage I drank.  

 

I'm not usually one to drink soda, but I have had Canada Dry Ginger Ale once since being diagnosed and not only did I not have any issues with it I was actually drinking it to calm my stomach after my one accidental glutening.  It worked.

FWIW.. whenever I come across contradictory information like that I contact the company directly.  They can usually set the record straight.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hershey's miniatures. But the full size is ok. Weird, right?

Fwiw, I drink Canada Dry Ginger Ale all the time.

You mean the little candy bars? I eat those. Not the ones that have gluten in every size - like Krackel bars. I haven't noticed a change in the ingredients between the big and little chocolate bars. They even say they don't have all the products on the list and to read ingredients.

From Hersheys:

For your convenience, the current products listed below have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten-free using standards proposed by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Please note, this list is not all inclusive as we have other products that do not have gluten containing ingredients.

The best way to determine if our products contain a gluten ingredient is to read our product label. This label includes an accurate, current listing of the ingredients in our products. Because, on occasion, the list of ingredients can change, we strongly encourage you to check the ingredient label on the package each time before you make a purchase.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You mean the little candy bars? I eat those. Not the ones that have gluten in every size - like Krackel bars. I haven't noticed a change in the ingredients between the big and little chocolate bars.

 

Hersey's miniatures are on the NON-gluten-free list:  http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/glutenfreefoodshopping/a/GFcandies.htm

(although I haven't checked the packages - I'm not really a junk-food person)

 

Also, regular Rolos are gluten-free but the mini's have wheat in them.  (Edited to add... Hersey's actually doesn't include Rolos on their gluten-free list either even though there are no gluten-ingredients in them... I *think* this because of the possibility of cross-contamination.)

 

So while most full-size and mini versions may be created equal... not all of them are.  (Every label... every time...)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes - here's the clip from the about.com site that NoGlutenCookies cited above:

 

The following Hershey's products are NOT gluten-free:

  • Hershey's Special Dark Bar
  • Hershey's Cookies 'N' Creme Bar
  • Hershey's Air Delight
  • Hershey's Milk Chocolate Drops
  • Hershey's Miniatures
  • Mr. Goodbar
  • Symphony Bar
  • Hershey's Extra Dark Chocolate

 

What I read somewhere that it has something to do with an emulsifier that they use in the minis.  And I was so sad that Special Dark Bars were on this list.  Those are my favorites!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not really a junk food person my self.  I'll file away the information for next time I look at the candy isle and get sick.

 

Caddbury Caramel eggs are not junk food, just sayin...

 

Colleen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not much for junk food either, but once in awhile you just need something unhealthy :)

I miss ice-cream sandwiches... but luckily Eddy's Fudge Tracks are safe!

If you can find these..... So good! They come in different sizes.

http://www.juliesorganic.com/ice_cream_sandwiches/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Celiac.com Sponsor:

  • Forum Discussions

    Dear god yes lol, I have a corn allergy and the starch is hit miss if it triggers a reaction, but they could also be from rice, or tapioca....seriously they need to go the route of many shampoos/body washes that list the chemical/ingredient...
    since they just say "food starch" they could have made it from a cows arse for all i know. they need to just say what it comes from every time lol
    Here is the interpretation chart he sent me and yes I have 2 kids in which their pediatrician said they didn’t need to be tested unless they show symptoms which goes against everything I have read about symptoms being silent etc.... Is i...
×
×
  • Create New...