Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Celiac.com Sponsor:

becky_01

Kraft Products ... I'm Shocked!

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

What you don't understand about CHEESE is that some of the enzymes used to PRODUCE cheese come from Wheat.  I thought everybody knew that, thus I didn't mention it.

Oh, I understand CHEESE very well. And I know that, unless something like beer is added, it is always, always, ALWAYS, safe for celiacs. Enzymes are highly processed, and will not contain detectable gluten, even if a gluten grain is used as the source. (The same applies to glucose, dextrin, maltodextrin. etc.) It then becomes a tiny part of the final product. No worries. Enjoy your cheese. It is gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What you don't understand about CHEESE is that some of the enzymes used to PRODUCE cheese come from Wheat.  I thought everybody knew that, thus I didn't mention it.

In the US if those enzymes came from wheat it would have to be listed on the label. 

If you are going to make statements like that please provide a link to the info.

As to the statement that us 'old timers' must be consuming gluten on a regular basis many of us 'old timers' have extremely severe reactions to gluten and we KNOW when that happens. 

I trust Kraft and have never had an issue with any of their products. 

When I was new to this I used to think that some foods, even those labeled gluten free were giving me a gluten reaction. It took awhile to realize that what I was reacting to was the soy in many of those products. If you are having reactions to Kraft products you may have an additional intolerance to something other than gluten in them.  Like casien (milk protein) in cheese, as one example.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You seem to be twisting things we are saying around. For example - wheat flour is sticky when moist - making it incapable of keeping cheese from sticking. This goes back to my suggestion to use some common sense. And there are a very very few cheeses with beer in them - but they aren't the regular old Kraft cheese and they proudly and legally list beer as an ingredient.

The law does not say they must test before labelling gluten-free - so if they are sure something would make the gluten-free standard, they can label it gluten-free without testing. They could be called on it at some point and have to prove they are less than 20 ppm.

The safest way to eat would be to grow your own food, which is, of course next to impossible for most people. Please, eat products you feel safe eating. Please don't assume or accuse me of purposefully glutening myself. I feel great, my tests are always negative for Celiac antibodies. Gluten does not hide. It is not evil or sneaky. Companies aren't trying to poison Celiacs.

 

I am not twisting your words and it isn't just beer in cheese that can make it gluten-free...but whatever....I did not accuse you of gluenting yourself...

 

The law says that if they are labeling something gluten-free it has to be less than 20 PPM...click on the link I provided to the FDA website....it's right there.  No they don't have to test if they know it is gluten-free, but then label it as such!

 

I eat cheese, I eat a lot of cheese, I love cheese, but, since a huge food company like Kraft is more concerned with their CYA vs helping it's consumers, I buy other brands that DO label as gluten-free....

 

Gluten does hide, read the list of unsafe gluten items on this website....there are a lot of products on that list and again, you may have the list memorized, I do not yet.  You accuse us of passing misinformation, yet you are doing just that yourself.   I was shopping just the other day and saw some cheese that looked good and would go nicely with the gluten-free crackers I had,  read the label and wheat flour was one of the ingredients.  It wasn't beer, it was wheat.  Same with the stupid frozen vegetables, why do they need to put a wheat derivative in a bag of frozen vegetables???  I'm glad I checked because that would have been one item I would have THOUGHT I could just pick up and buy--NOPE.  Maybe you have just developed a routine where you buy the same things over an over and don't have to look any longer but those of us that are new are still in the learning process.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 You accuse us of passing misinformation, yet you are doing just that yourself.   I was shopping just the other day and saw some cheese that looked good and would go nicely with the gluten-free crackers I had,  read the label and wheat flour was one of the ingredients.  It wasn't beer, it was wheat.  Same with the stupid frozen vegetables, why do they need to put a wheat derivative in a bag of frozen vegetables???  I'm glad I checked because that would have been one item I would have THOUGHT I could just pick up and buy--NOPE.  Maybe you have just developed a routine where you buy the same things over an over and don't have to look any longer but those of us that are new are still in the learning process.  

In both the instances of gluten 'hiding' that you are giving it is not actually hidden. It was in the ingredients list! That is not hidden gluten. We need to read labels. We need to read them every time we buy something processed. Is it hard to get used to at first, yes for some of us it is but we do get used to it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

The law says that if they are labeling something gluten-free it has to be less than 20 PPM...click on the link I provided to the FDA website....it's right there.  No they don't have to test if they know it is gluten-free, but then label it as such!

 

 

 

 

I think you are agreeing with me?  I said that they don't have to actually test to label gluten-free with the way the law is currently written but they want to be pretty sure it is gluten-free in case they are complained about and told to prove it.  That's all I was trying to get you two to realize.  There are symbols - like the gluten-free in the circle (in the US)  - that have certain standards beyond the FDA regulations.

 

When I say gluten isn't hidden - your example of a cheese spread? sauce? or frozen veggie listing wheat is a perfect example of my point. It may seem odd to have wheat, but it is listed (not hidden).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am not sure where you are getting this info from? If these " wheat enzymes" are actually used to produce cheese and contained gluten, wouldn't the Celic Associations warn us of this? I would think you can't eat any cheese then because enzymes aren't a listed ingredient and you wouldn't know where they came from.

 

In some cheeses, Mold and Mold Powder is made from Wheat, Barley and Rye Breads.  It is injected into cheese to form the flavor of the cheese.  Some cheeses are also rolled in this formulation to produce various flavors and outside bacteria growth.  There are other cheese besides Cheddar and Mozzarella.  ha!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh, I understand CHEESE very well. And I know that, unless something like beer is added, it is always, always, ALWAYS, safe for celiacs. Enzymes are highly processed, and will not contain detectable gluten, even if a gluten grain is used as the source. (The same applies to glucose, dextrin, maltodextrin. etc.) It then becomes a tiny part of the final product. No worries. Enjoy your cheese. It is gluten-free.

 

EXCEPT the cheese that are NOT safe ... like those which are flavored with Mold derived from Wheat, Barley and Rye Breads.  I'm not speaking of the common Cheddar and Mozzarella Cheese.  There are more cheeses and some of those are NOT safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the US if those enzymes came from wheat it would have to be listed on the label. 

If you are going to make statements like that please provide a link to the info.

As to the statement that us 'old timers' must be consuming gluten on a regular basis many of us 'old timers' have extremely severe reactions to gluten and we KNOW when that happens. 

I trust Kraft and have never had an issue with any of their products. 

When I was new to this I used to think that some foods, even those labeled gluten free were giving me a gluten reaction. It took awhile to realize that what I was reacting to was the soy in many of those products. If you are having reactions to Kraft products you may have an additional intolerance to something other than gluten in them.  Like casien (milk protein) in cheese, as one example.

 

I've been tested for Soy and Milk and Egg as well and do not have reactions to those item.  Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you read the labels on products you will be safe. That's the bottom line. Wheat in some cheeses? The label will say so. If it does, don't eat it.

 

And for those of you who insist Kraft products are not safe, just don't buy them. That will leave more for those of us who know better. And by the way, I'm one of those "old timers" who has been glutened exactly ONCE in three and a half years. (And it certainly wasn't by cheese, nor a Kraft product.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you read the labels on products you will be safe. That's the bottom line. Wheat in some cheeses? The label will say so. If it does, don't eat it.

 

And for those of you who insist Kraft products are not safe, just don't buy them. That will leave more for those of us who know better. And by the way, I'm one of those "old timers" who has been glutened exactly ONCE in three and a half years. (And it certainly wasn't by cheese, nor a Kraft product.)

yep - on the 14th it will be one year since i was glutened.  NOT by cheese or a kraft product or any grocery item i purchased in the store and read the label to check ingredients.  it was from eating out.  ONE YEAR.  lolz, i must be so bad at keeping safe...  

 

that being said, i will put an item back if there are any ingredients i don't understand or look like they could be sketchy.  (ha!  and i looked up one ingredient in the store one time and it turned out to be coloring made from crushed bug bodies - YIKES - no more fruit cocktail cherries for *this* girl.  gross.  but, hey, even crushed bug bodies are gluten free, so, technically, i *could have* eaten them safely!!)  i think we are all pretty sensitive, but maybe you are feeling badly from some other source.  like everybody else who has been walking in celiac shoes, i want to stress label reading.  and suggest using a food journal if you are having symptoms that you need to track down the cause of your troubles.  if you really think all these things are making you sick, please let us know when you are miraculously cured by not eating cheese and kraft products.  thanks and have a pleasant day :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yep - on the 14th it will be one year since i was glutened.  NOT by cheese or a kraft product or any grocery item i purchased in the store and read the label to check ingredients.  it was from eating out.  ONE YEAR.  lolz, i must be so bad at keeping safe...  

 

that being said, i will put an item back if there are any ingredients i don't understand or look like they could be sketchy.  (ha!  and i looked up one ingredient in the store one time and it turned out to be coloring made from crushed bug bodies - YIKES - no more fruit cocktail cherries for *this* girl.  gross.  but, hey, even crushed bug bodies are gluten free, so, technically, i *could have* eaten them safely!!)  i think we are all pretty sensitive, but maybe you are feeling badly from some other source.  like everybody else who has been walking in celiac shoes, i want to stress label reading.  and suggest using a food journal if you are having symptoms that you need to track down the cause of your troubles.  if you really think all these things are making you sick, please let us know when you are miraculously cured by not eating cheese and kraft products.  thanks and have a pleasant day :)

 

I really think MOST of the glutening I get is because hubby still eats gluten in our household and even though he thinks he's being cautious, I still feel like he's getting it on the fridge door or microwave or somewhere and I come along and pick it up.  Maybe one day he'll stop.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I really think MOST of the glutening I get is because hubby still eats gluten in our household and even though he thinks he's being cautious, I still feel like he's getting it on the fridge door or microwave or somewhere and I come along and pick it up.  Maybe one day he'll stop.

You could also be glutened by his kisses if he doesn't brush his teeth first. It can be hard to live with gluten eaters but it can be done safely. If you can get him to use just one space on a counter to make a sandwich or other gluten item and perhaps get him to wash his hands after he eats that may help.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yep - on the 14th it will be one year since i was glutened.  NOT by cheese or a kraft product or any grocery item i purchased in the store and read the label to check ingredients.  it was from eating out.  ONE YEAR.  lolz, i must be so bad at keeping safe...  

 

that being said, i will put an item back if there are any ingredients i don't understand or look like they could be sketchy.  (ha!  and i looked up one ingredient in the store one time and it turned out to be coloring made from crushed bug bodies - YIKES - no more fruit cocktail cherries for *this* girl.  gross.  but, hey, even crushed bug bodies are gluten free, so, technically, i *could have* eaten them safely!!)  i think we are all pretty sensitive, but maybe you are feeling badly from some other source.  like everybody else who has been walking in celiac shoes, i want to stress label reading.  and suggest using a food journal if you are having symptoms that you need to track down the cause of your troubles.  if you really think all these things are making you sick, please let us know when you are miraculously cured by not eating cheese and kraft products.  thanks and have a pleasant day :)

 

So,,,what is the difference between you putting back an item where you don't know what the label reads or if I do???? But, hey, gluten doesn't hide in those goofy ingredients I've been told, so you can eat whatever you want I guess.   Like I said, I eat cheese all the time. I'm having some right now as a matter of fact....but the bag is labeled gluten-free, unlike Kraft who chooses not to take the time to make sure their products are safe for us to eat.  Thanks, have a great weekend.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SMRI, you've been told and it has been explained to you over and over again. Kraft products are safe. They are one of the best companies out there when it comes to labeling for gluten.

 

For example, the law says if a product contains wheat it must be on the ingredients label. There is no such law for barley, but Krafte WILL tell us if for example there is malt from BARLEY. Other companies might just say malt and it is up to US to know that the malt they contain is PROBABLY from barley.

 

If you want to let the CYA statement deter you from eating some of the safest foods on the market, fine. It's your loss. But you really shouldn't trash a company that has been so celiac friendly for years, long before the new law took effect. Kraft is one of the good guys. We "old timers" appreciate them and have complete confidence in them. ALL of us who have told you this have been eating Kraft products for years and have NEVER been glutened by them.

 

So please, if you don't want to eat Kraft, fine. But you are possibly scaring off some newbies who are having enough of a hard time adjusting to the diet. If they listen to us "old timers" they will know that if it is a Kraft product, they can trust what the label says. That will make their life easier. We are here to help make their lives easier, not to scare them with unfounded accusations.

 

OK?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If Kraft is so good, why don't they label items as gluten-free????  I am one of the newbies!!!!!  Like I said, there is a lot of hidden gluten in the various products---and no, they don't always say "wheat"....the list is linked on this site.  If Kraft was so good, they would put gluten-free on gluten-free items.  Don't you see that by not doing this they are NOT helping us newbies???  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, one more time: Many products claim to be gluten-free but if you read the label you will find out otherwise. For example, I just read a thread about a coffee substitute (Dandy somethingorother) that is labeled gluten-free, but it is made with barley.

 

That's just like that beer folks have mentioned that claims to be gluten-free because the gluten has been "removed", but it has made every celiac who has tried it sick.

 

The new law does NOT require that companies test their products so there are still companies using the gluten-free claim where they should not. The only thing that is meaningful is something labeled certified gluten-free, because those things ARE tested.

 

Which leaves us back where we started. We HAVE to read the labels on everything we eat. If we just go by a claim of gluten-free, we might get glutened anyway. So we read the labels. And Kraft products are one of the few we can trust to name any source of gluten.

 

Not only that but they ALWAYS let us know if one of their products are made in the same facility or on the same equipment that processes gluten. And believe me, that is a voluntary statement that a LOT of companies don't bother with. Every day I read something written by a "supersensitive" that says they got glutened by something with no gluten ingredients, but they found out when they called the company that the stuff was made on the same equipment that processes wheat.

 

With Kraft, you never have to call the company because it will say so on the label.

 

Honestly...Kraft is about the most trustworthy company out there for a celiac. Honestly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, one more time: Many products claim to be gluten-free but if you read the label you will find out otherwise. For example, I just read a thread about a coffee substitute (Dandy somethingorother) that is labeled gluten-free, but it is made with barley.

 

That's just like that beer folks have mentioned that claims to be gluten-free because the gluten has been "removed", but it has made every celiac who has tried it sick.

 

The new law does NOT require that companies test their products so there are still companies using the gluten-free claim where they should not. The only thing that is meaningful is something labeled certified gluten-free, because those things ARE tested.

 

Which leaves us back where we started. We HAVE to read the labels on everything we eat. If we just go by a claim of gluten-free, we might get glutened anyway. So we read the labels. And Kraft products are one of the few we can trust to name any source of gluten.

 

Not only that but they ALWAYS let us know if one of their products are made in the same facility or on the same equipment that processes gluten. And believe me, that is a voluntary statement that a LOT of companies don't bother with. Every day I read something written by a "supersensitive" that says they got glutened by something with no gluten ingredients, but they found out when they called the company that the stuff was made on the same equipment that processes wheat.

 

With Kraft, you never have to call the company because it will say so on the label.

 

Honestly...Kraft is about the most trustworthy company out there for a celiac. Honestly.

 

I agree with SMRI.  If they're so great, they should test and get certified and prove it.  They're a big enough company with plenty of money.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with SMRI. If they're so great, they should test and get certified and prove it. They're a big enough company with plenty of money.

 

 

Fine! Then don't eat their products.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you read about the certification process (google it), you will see that it is very costly. That is why cerified gluten-free products cost the consumer about twice (or more) what regular products cost. If I can read a label from a trusted company and see that it is gluten-free, I will buy that product rather than relying on the certified gluten-free label. If I were too lazy to read labels or to do research about which companies to trust for accuracy in labeling, I couldn't afford to eat! I believe it was on the first page of this thread that the list of companies that are trustworthy (Kraft, Unilever, Con-Agra, etc.) was posted. So you don't even need to do the research because it was already done for you!

 

So rather than demanding that these good companies spend all that money for certification just so you won't have to bother reading the labels, let those of us who DO read labels and DO know which companies to trust, continue to buy these products at a reasonable price.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, one more time: Many products claim to be gluten-free but if you read the label you will find out otherwise. For example, I just read a thread about a coffee substitute (Dandy somethingorother) that is labeled gluten-free, but it is made with barley.

 

That's just like that beer folks have mentioned that claims to be gluten-free because the gluten has been "removed", but it has made every celiac who has tried it sick.

 

The new law does NOT require that companies test their products so there are still companies using the gluten-free claim where they should not. The only thing that is meaningful is something labeled certified gluten-free, because those things ARE tested.

 

Which leaves us back where we started. We HAVE to read the labels on everything we eat. If we just go by a claim of gluten-free, we might get glutened anyway. So we read the labels. And Kraft products are one of the few we can trust to name any source of gluten.

 

Not only that but they ALWAYS let us know if one of their products are made in the same facility or on the same equipment that processes gluten. And believe me, that is a voluntary statement that a LOT of companies don't bother with. Every day I read something written by a "supersensitive" that says they got glutened by something with no gluten ingredients, but they found out when they called the company that the stuff was made on the same equipment that processes wheat.

 

With Kraft, you never have to call the company because it will say so on the label.

 

Honestly...Kraft is about the most trustworthy company out there for a celiac. Honestly.

 

OK, one more time---the FDA doesn't ALLOW them to put gluten-free on the label if they are NOT......

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Read the law again. They DON'T HAVE TO TEST TO CLAIM SOMETHING IS gluten-free. If enough people complain about a product labeled gluten-free, the FDA can come in and bust them, but until that happens, companies like that coffee substitute and that beer labeled "gluten removed" can continue to claim gluten-free status. So while the new law is a start, it really hasn't changed much for us. We HAVE to read the labels. EVERY TIME.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with SMRI.  If they're so great, they should test and get certified and prove it.  They're a big enough company with plenty of money.

The cost of that testing will not come out of their profits--the shareholders would rebel. It can only come by increasing the cost of the product at retail. Food is a big part of our monthly budget. I don't need it to increase for no good reason.

Kraft would also lose customers from the 99% who don't care about gluten. Bad business decision for Kraft.

I think we have beaten this to death. If anybody has any genuinely NEW ideas, please share them. Otherwise, we are done here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with SMRI. If they're so great, they should test and get certified and prove it. They're a big enough company with plenty of money.

 

 

Fine! Then don't eat their products.

 

If it were as cut and dry as "don't eat their products" ... why do we have this forum??  Why do we need this forum if everything is just flat out cut and dry??  I say we just shut down this forum then, according to your opinion, because we don't need to discuss our vent our frustrations ... we need to listen to you and just do away with all modes of venting.  Don't you know, that I have sense enough to NOT buy nor eat their products?!  I'm here to complain and hopefully get a rise out of Kraft about their loose methods of stating their products are gluten free.  It is not right and the government should step in and tighten the reigns.  All you people that think it's "OK" ... are the reason things are not more strict.  If you had the guts to step up and complain about it, instead of sweep it under the rug, things would be different.  There's power in many and failure in the weak.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The cost of that testing will not come out of their profits--the shareholders would rebel. It can only come by increasing the cost of the product at retail. Food is a big part of our monthly budget. I don't need it to increase for no good reason.

Kraft would also lose customers from the 99% who don't care about gluten. Bad business decision for Kraft.

I think we have beaten this to death. If anybody has any genuinely NEW ideas, please share them. Otherwise, we are done here.

 

I think we can agree to disagree.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...