Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Green12

Jell-o Instant Pudding

Recommended Posts

I have a recipe for a fruit dip I was going to make the family for the 4th that has jell-o instant pudding as one of the ingredients. I did a search to see if it was gluten-free and all of the celiac websites list jell-o instant pudding as a main item to avoid. I am confused because I thought Kraft was really good at labeling main allergens on their products.

Is there a debate as to the source of modified food starch?

Comments/suggestions anyone??

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Cut and paste from the KraftFoods website which has a document about gluten-free foods they produce: Link to that document is:

http://www.kraftfoods.com/health/articles/...ree_0623031.pdf

"Food Starch and Modified Food Starch: When listed in the ingredient statement of Kraft products, “food starch” and “modified food starch” often refer to corn starch. Our ingredient suppliers assure us that the corn starch we use in our products does not contain gluten. If a Kraft product uses food starches from a gluten- containing source, such as wheat starch, the source will always be identified in the ingredient statement."

According to the label of Jell-O Instant Chocolate Pudding Mix: Mod. Food Starch is listed, but no allergens are listed, indicating it is from Corn. Kraft is very diligent about any source of Gluten - see the link above for more about their policies.


Franceen

Diagnosed DH by Allergist via gluten-free Diet Success

Gluten-free since Dec 2005

Gluten-free works so why keep getting tests?

Neg skin biopsy & Neg bloodwork after gluten-free for 3 months

No Endoscopy - need to eat gluten for good test & won't do it

No other Allergies or major ailments!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kraft will not hide anything and that is the maker of jell-o brand. Unless it says wheat, rye, barley, oats on the label then it is safe.


Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Many of us have problems with casein as well as gluten, perhaps that is why. We eat Jell-o pudding all the time, but just the chocolate and vanilla non-instant kind. I find that the instant kind doesn't work well with soymilk.


Michael J. MacCartney

gluten-free 2005-June-24 Dairy free 2005-July-26

gluten / casein intolerant

HLA-DQ 2,3 (Subtype 2,7)

Diagnosed Celiac 2006-April-24

Father of:

Michael II HLA-DQ 2,1 (Subtype 2,6) - Allergic to Peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, and milk

William HLA-DQ 2,1 (Subtype 2,5) - Allergy free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the sugarfree, fatfree instant pudding has dairy derivitaves.


Gluten-free, Vegan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I am confused? Do they contain gluten and are they safe for us to eat?

I have noticed that some manufacturers have already started labeling their products with "contains" etc. but some older products that may have been sitting on shelves do not. The law stated that they did not have to remove all old labels so I wonder when we are going to finally know.

I did hear that in 2008 gluten will have to be listed...not just wheat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
So I am confused? Do they contain gluten and are they safe for us to eat?

I have noticed that some manufacturers have already started labeling their products with "contains" etc. but some older products that may have been sitting on shelves do not. The law stated that they did not have to remove all old labels so I wonder when we are going to finally know.

I did hear that in 2008 gluten will have to be listed...not just wheat.

Jell-o pudding, as long as there is not wheat, barley, rye, or oats on the label, it's safe. Most of them are indeed safe, the one I can think of off the top of my head that isn't safe is the oreo flavor.

With Kraft, their modified foodstarch is always corn unless stated otherwise. They aren't the only company that does this, but I don't have a list right here of who else does. If it's not a trusted company, then you have to call re: modified foodstarch.

When in doubt, don't eat it and call the company. Even with the new labelling law, it only refers to wheat, not barley, rye, or oats.


Alright, don't worry even if things end up a bit too heavy

We'll all float on, alright

Well we'll float on good news is on the way...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi. I am new to all this (just been on the diet for a couple of weeks). Can someone tell me if the jello pudding mix will make/gel with soy or rice milk rather than dairy? Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not sure on soy or rice milk but I've used lactaid and almond milk before and it worked just fine. Lactaid does set up more solid though.

Just an FYI - These posts are from 2006-2007. Most of these posters haven't been on in years.


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites