Googles

Need To Vent

Rate this topic

I just need to vent so I'm posting.

It makes me so mad when people who do not know about celiac disease and its challenges go and say that it isn't a big deal. I was at church on Sunday and was explaining why I needed to have communion special for me. One person popped into the discussion and said that it was sooo easy to be gluten free because there are more gluten free foods than there used to be. I agree with the premise that there are more foods that are gluten free and that it is easier to be gluten free than it has been at any other time. However, it infuriates me when they then go on to say that makes it "easy". I'm sure it will get easier for me as it goes on, but I have only been diagnosed for three months. I am still learning what I can and can't eat when it comes to foods that are not plain. I feel overwhelmed when I go to the grocery store and can't do very much shopping at one time. (I never liked grocery shopping in the first place) I find that the food costs more. I tried to find gluten free "bread crumbs" at the grocery store the other day so I could put it on my chicken, as I haven't had anything on my chicken in three months. But I couldn't find any. It is little things like this that make it hard. Not necessarily that things aren't labeled (though I never have time to shop during that M-F 9-5 period when I could easily find out). People went out after young adult group the other week, but I felt I couldn't because they were going to a sandwich restaurant and I didn't know anything about it. (I just recently moved). I just hate it when they tell me it should be easy for me. They don't know my life, and they don't know what I have to do and how careful I have to be. As if as long as I buy gluten free (which is apparently easy) I won't have any other issues or problems with it. I have been living on apples and peanut butter the last week. I would love to have the time to make everything from scratch, but that