Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
CGally81

Movie Popcorn?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Since I'm in the "hungry all the time" phase of this wonderful disease, and Christmas vacation with my family is coming real soon, I'm very afraid of what might happen during a trip to the movies (we usually go to one every Christmas). Is there any chance of gluten being in the popcorn at the movies theater? I can't take a safe snack like peanuts into the theater with me, so I'd have to be 100% I can eat something there, or somehow have eaten a TON beforehand and hope it's enough to last the next few hours (which can't be guaranteed).

So, is movie popcorn safe? Can I trust it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know that quite a few theaters have gluten-free popcorn--the safest thing to do would be to call the one you plan to attend.

That said, I make my own homemade popcorn to take with me. I pop it in light olive oil and sprinkle with a little sea salt--much healthier than what you get in the theater--gluten-free or not. ;) No one has ever said anything, and if they did I would politely explain I have "severe food intolerances".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The solution: take a really big handbag, or travel with someone who has one. I load up on junkfood at the dollar store for my kids, pack my handbag, and then we head into the movies. No one will ever say anything, and I'm not down an extra $40 on junkfood! ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I HAVE BEEN LUCKY WITH CELEBRATION CINEMA POPCORN - I HAD A COUPLE PCS TO TEST IT - NO REACTION (I'd feel it in my neck first) AND THEN ATE A FEW MORE! I LOVED IT!

I WAS SOOOO HAPPPPPPPYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!

I ALSO BRING MY PEPSI OR WATER WITH ME IN A BIG POCKET OR PURSE.

NO ONE REALLY MONITORS THE MOVIE.......I'VE NEVER SEEN ANYONE CHECKING YOU OUT WHILE WATCHING THE MOVIE.

HAVE FUN WITH YOUR FAMILY!

CHECK THE THEATER FIRST IF YOU NEED TO.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've yet to hear of a theater popcorn that isn't gluten-free. Years ago the country's largest popcorn flavoring company (Flavacol) said their stuff is gluten-free. The oil they use is not going to have gluten. Still, you can always try to check on ingredients.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My advice on this. As with everything else, when in doubt, don't. As someone suggested, call the specific theater beforehand and see if their stuff is okay. The two theaters near me were okay, I ate the popcorn fine and blah blah. Then I went to another theater in another state. Different company...but, thinking on a whim...maybe just maybe I'd have it and be okay. It wasn't okay. I was glutened later that night and am 99% sure it was the movie popcorn that did it. It was on Christmas too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Define safe.........

Are we talking gluten free safe? or safe in general. Because while I agree, I've never heard of movie popcorn not being gluten free...I have seen some movie popcorn sit in its container for long periods of time and that butter, is pure evil.......heavenly...but evil :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heh, that's true. Movie popcorn NEVER sat well with my stomach. The chemicals they use for popping, outside of any "butter flavored topping" just... URGH!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×