This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Need A Really Awesome Cookie Recipe!

mommyto3

mommyto3 Contributor

I found the best gluten free cookies EVER at a local gluten free bakery but they're so expensive that I can't afford to keep buying them all the time. Compared to these cookies, the packaged stuff is totally gross. My son loves the bakery cookies but at $1 each (not that big either) it's getting a bit ridiculous.

I'd love to learn how to bake a really good gluten free chocolate chip cookie for him. I tried the premade mixes and they are just awful. Does anybody have a really good recipe that I could try?

Thanks!

ps - I'm a bad cook and baker so I need really good instructions :blink:

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

mamaw Community Regular

I just use my wheat recipe & sub out the flour. Use a good flour blend such as Annalise ROberts, Jules, Meister's, Tom Sawyer are a few of the better ones. Also if you google Lori Kavorlis she has an awesome recipe .... if you can't find it send me a pm & I'll get it to you. I'm on my way out the door right now.

mamaw

bbuster Explorer

Have you ever used Pamela's Baking & Pancake Mix? Has a really good, really simple chocolate chip cookie recipe right on the package. The only change I make to it is to use 1/2 butter/margarine and 1/2 Crisco shortening (so for the normal recipe, it's 1/2 stick of margarine and 1/4 cup Crisco). We don't add the nuts because my kids don't like them.