This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Celiac and Diabetic

Crystal Starkey

Crystal Starkey Rookie

Hello, I am new to this...Just found out I have celiac disease and I'm diabetic.  Double whammy!!  Just wondering if anyone else is too and if so, what advice do you have for me?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

plumbago Experienced
18 minutes ago, Crystal Starkey said:

Hello, I am new to this...Just found out I have celiac disease and I'm diabetic.  Double whammy!!  Just wondering if anyone else is too and if so, what advice do you have for me?

Hi, it may help others if they know what type diabetes you have.

Plumbago

trents Grand Master

Celiac Disease and Diabetes have significant genetic overlap on the genome map. So having both is very common. In fact, there is an element in the medical/scientific community are advocating that all diabetics should also be screened for celiac disease.

The good news for you is that the modifications to eating habits necessary to address celiac disease symptoms will also be good for keeping your diabetes under control. A high proportion of the bad calories most of us consume have to do with wheat products. But it can be more than just avoiding gluten containing grains (what, barley, rye) since many celiacs develop other food allergies/sensitivities. Dairy and soy are commonly among them but it can be almost any food for the individual. celiac disease causes "leaky gut" which in turn results in a very dysfunctional immune system.