Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Kiki2

Edy's Sherbert, Starbucks Beverages

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hey everyone hows everything going...I just bought some Edy's Sherbert and it seems like it is OKAY!!! i a so excited but before i ate any I want to know if anybody else has ever tried it and if their reaction was okay... Also does anybody know a list of drinks from Starbucks are Celiac friendly.. my personal favorite before was Caramel Mocchiato Soy milk instead of regular milk.... I need to know what is safe I need me a starbucks beverage!!!! hehehe hope you all can help.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just called on Friday and the lady on the phone said the only items they have that ARE NOT gluten-free are the mocha and white mocha, and anything with chocolate chips. I am pretty sure Eddy's sherbert is fine, as is some of their ice cream/yogurt (just read the ingredient list on the back). I needed to make sure I could still have my ice cream and Starbucks too :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was under the impression that all Starbucks beverages, with the obvious exception of the stuff with brownies, were Gluten Free. I thought that had been posted here before. Maybe I'm wrong. Anyone else know?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also had thought it was only the drinks with chips that were off limits. Was it someone at the corporate level who told you the mochas were not okay, or someone in one of the stores?

If I get a frappe, I ask them to clean the blender and extra time for me to be sure the chips are gone. I'm sitting here now with my venti organic chai with an espresso shot. Yum.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if you are getting the soymilk because you are dairy/casein free, the basic frapp mix has casein in it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

does anyone know if the new banana creme is gluten-free cause well banana are like some of my favorite stuff in drinks of all time, i just really love it, but i want to make sure before i drink it and get sick. I don't have time to call=finals in 2 weeks!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Someone posted recently that they had contacted Starbucks corporate and the new banana and coconut frapps are gluten-free. I had the coffee based banana coconut one the other day! No problems.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It was someone at the corporate number that I called that told me the mochas and white mochas were not gluten-free. Don't know why. If someone knows otherwise, I would love to know, b/c I love the white mochas!

:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

FYI - Caribou Coffee's response:

Thank you for taking time to write us with your questions. We at

Caribou

Coffee are sensitive to the needs of our customers with dietary

restrictions, including gluten allergies. We are consistently working

to

make these concerns known and to produce such nutritional information

available more readily. Coffee and espresso contain no gluten or soy,

nor does regular or 2% milk. Also, all our syrup flavors and Chai

products are gluten-free. For these reasons, our coffee of the day,

lattes and cappuccinos are not considered serious gluten or soy risks.

Also, our syrups are gluten-free. No such claim can be made for our

specialty drinks (Smoothies, Wild drinks) as many ingredients

(particularly the candy toppings) come from third party vendors.

The know allergens the 'Bou Powder (used to make our Coolers) contains

is as follows: Milk protein, soy protein, and corn derivatives. This

product is processed on shared equipment.

Please note that at Caribou, as at all restaurants, cross-contamination

is not an insignificant risk. We will do our best to accommodate your

dietary restrictions but remind you that the ultimate decision -- and

responsibly -- is yours alone. I hope this information is helpful to

you

as you make your coffee decisions. I have also passed your

correspondence to the Marketing department to consider in their future

nutritional information offerings. If I can be of any further

assistance, please let me know. Thank you again for your inquiry and

for

making Caribou a part of your coffee experience!

Sincerely,

Jaidyn Martin

Customer Relations Specialist

Caribou Coffee Company

763.592.2200

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Starbucks Mochas - They get the mocha powder from a third party vendor, who will not verify its gluten status. Therefore, Starbucks won't call it gluten free. Hope this helps.

Debbie

(I had mochas all the time before I learned this, and never had a reaction. So they are probably ok, but not verified gluten-free.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For anyone who's interested, I just got a job at starbucks. All of the frapps are mixed in the same blenders. (this includes the non gluten-free frapps with chips) All they do is rinse them out between uses. I would suggest that you specify them to use a freshly washed and sanitized blender to prevent cross contamination. If anyone has any other starbucks questions, I would be happy to find out the answers for you :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Starbucks is okay....Whatch out for their frappucinos and also they are very ingredient friendly and state wheat and gluten info..I work for starbucks and all the employees would be glad to help you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So does anyone else drink the Mocha's at STarbucks. I had been drinking them and then was getting sick and thought it might be that. It probably isn't that, but most of what i have read says everything is gluten free, except stuff with chips and then the risk with frappacino's.

Monica

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I work at Starbucks and have for 5 years.. granted I am not corporate but absolutely love the white mocha... I drink a toffenut white mocha at least 4x a day... no problems I am very sensitive to wheat and gluten. The truth the items you can not have definitly are: Frapp. chips, banana flavor is made with same equipment...Please people ask them at Starbucks next time you are there and look at the ingredients on the back... Im off tommorrow I will look and see for sure.....Thursday!

It was someone at the corporate number that I called that told me the mochas and white mochas were not gluten-free. Don't know why. If someone knows otherwise, I would love to know, b/c I love the white mochas!

:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is the hot chocolate at Starbucks gluten free? I ask because I was under the impression that a hot chocolate was made the same as a mocha, except without the espresso. So if the mocha is in question...is the hot chocolate in question, as well? I sure hope not. I just started gluten free and I don't know if I can live without my hot chocolate!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All of Edy's sherberts are gluten free, as are a good number of their ice creams. They are very good on labeling and the gluten free ones are labeled as such at the bottom of the nutrional facts. This information is also available on their web site, just click on the product of your choice and it will give you the ingredients as listed on the package. Easier to read off the computer than standing in a freezer door trying to read 1/8 inch print with a screaming 6 year old trying to muscle you out of the way to get some ice cream sandwiches :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hey everyone hows everything going...I just bought some Edy's Sherbert and it seems like it is OKAY!!! i a so excited but before i ate any I want to know if anybody else has ever tried it and if their reaction was okay... Also does anybody know a list of drinks from Starbucks are Celiac friendly.. my personal favorite before was Caramel Mocchiato Soy milk instead of regular milk.... I need to know what is safe I need me a starbucks beverage!!!! hehehe hope you all can help.

I'd love to hear more people weigh in on the Starbuck's because I reacted after having one of their holiday coffees. I think it was the Peppermint Mocha. My brother reacted after having their hot chocolate. I came home and looked all over the internet after I got sick and found that someone said the chocolate supplier for Starbucks manufactures in a facility with wheat. It seems most people do o.k. with it on this board though so I'm not sure. I didn't have anything else while I was out and I react quickly so I know for sure it was the coffee I had.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'd love to hear more people weigh in on the Starbuck's because I reacted after having one of their holiday coffees. I think it was the Peppermint Mocha. My brother reacted after having their hot chocolate. I came home and looked all over the internet after I got sick and found that someone said the chocolate supplier for Starbucks manufactures in a facility with wheat. It seems most people do o.k. with it on this board though so I'm not sure. I didn't have anything else while I was out and I react quickly so I know for sure it was the coffee I had.

Coffee itself can cause diarrhea because it's so acidic.

How long have you been gluten-free? I see you joined in Dec., if that's when you went gluten-free, then your tummy maybe is just sensitive. Many of us have to eat very simply in the beginning -- meat and veggies.

Also, if you're new to the diet, you might be having a problem with the dairy. With celiac, the part of the villi that gets damaged first is the part that digests dairy. This will cause lactose intolerance until that part is healed. Some celiacs are casein intolerant -- casein is the protein in the milk.

I would suspect that more than the chocolate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I love Starbucks and we actually have one in the hospital I work at...which is not good for all of the addicts out there :) My favorite is the Iced Tea shaken Lemonade. The Passion Fruit lemonade is also pretty good. I don't get many of the hot drinks, only because I drink them so slow that they always go cold on me, and I don't like to reheat. The Starbucks employees are always very nice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Coffee itself can cause diarrhea because it's so acidic.

How long have you been gluten-free? I see you joined in Dec., if that's when you went gluten-free, then your tummy maybe is just sensitive. Many of us have to eat very simply in the beginning -- meat and veggies.

Also, if you're new to the diet, you might be having a problem with the dairy. With celiac, the part of the villi that gets damaged first is the part that digests dairy. This will cause lactose intolerance until that part is healed. Some celiacs are casein intolerant -- casein is the protein in the milk.

I would suspect that more than the chocolate.

My reactions are almost all neurological and it doesn't affect my digestion very much. Our family seems to be a bit unusual in that everyone that has problems w/ gluten has c. and not d. Since the reactions are neurological I can usually tell very quickly if I've had gluten. My daughter on the other hand will get horrible stomach pains hours later which can make it more difficult to track down the source.

After I had the coffee I started to lose coordination, began shaking, trouble speaking and other things like that. I was wondering if maybe something else just got mixed in with it since they were very busy, but then my brother said he also became sick from the hot chocolate. However, I think he reacts less quickly so he could be incorrect. It was frustrating because I was feeling great until I had that coffee and then I was sick for quite some time after that.

The only other thing that I suspect I may have problems with is MSG, but the reaction is not quite the same. The only similarity is that I swell with both gluten and MSG, but I don't get the neuro. type reactions from the MSG. I might be willing to try the mocha latte again if I see enough people here say they did fine with it :o)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
:lol: Yeah! I'm so glad I found this thread! I've been wondering about Starbucks and have been too afraid to take my daughter there for a "treat" for fear that she would get sick or we'd have to walk out when a gluten-free request was frowned upon. We shall visit with vim and vigor again!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I found out that whipped cream has a wheat based ingredent. So it may be the whipped cream that is culprit. I am newly off gluten so my sensitivity is not as harsh but I can still tell. I am going to go get a white peppermint mocha hold the whipped cream and I will report back with what my tummy has to say about it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I love Starbucks and we actually have one in the hospital I work at...which is not good for all of the addicts out there :) My favorite is the Iced Tea shaken Lemonade. The Passion Fruit lemonade is also pretty good. I don't get many of the hot drinks, only because I drink them so slow that they always go cold on me, and I don't like to reheat. The Starbucks employees are always very nice.

You might want to re-check the Passion Fruit Lemonade drink at Starbuck's....I don't think the tea part is gluten-free. Herbal tea's can be a problem because of the flavoings they use in them. I know many are not gluten-free.

The only drinks at Starbuck's that are gluten-free are the Chai tea latte's and the straight coffee drinks like the latte's, with no added flavorings. I had a problem with the chocolate drinks so I think they are not gluten-free either. It was not the milk that was the problem because I could have a straight latte with no problem.

Starbucks does not do a good job of listing allergins and it took a few phone calls to extract any information about gluten from them. I just stick to plain drinks and have had zero problems.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there... I have ran into the same scenerio as the others. I have called the corporate office and I was also told that most mochas were gluten-free, except with chocolate chips and other chocalte flavoring??? My favorite is the Carmel Macchiato. Now the gal in customer service did tell me that this was also gluten/wheat free. I hope so ... I do enjoy having a Grande on occasion. :)

T

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OH NO!!! I had called Starbucks when we 1st had a diagnosis (2 years ago) and they said the mocha's were gluten-free, only no sprinkles on the hot cocoa. My dd gets a peppermint hot chocolate once a week and hasn't had an issue at all, but I'm going to check it out again! Thanks!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...