Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

mn farm gal

La Choy Soy Sauce?

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Is La Choy Soy Sauce gluten free? I used it 2 days in a row and am sick just wondering if someone knows for sure.

All soy sauce has wheat, unless it says gluten-free, as near as I can tell. There are a couple manufacturers that make it gluten-free, though. San-J makes a wheat-free organic tamari.


Enterolab:

Fecal Antigliadin IgA 20 (Normal Range <10 Units)

Fecal Antitissue Transglutaminase IgA 9 Units (Normal Range <10 Units)

Quantitative Microscopic Fecal Fat Score 1223 Units (Normal Range <300 Units)

Fecal Anti-Soy IgA 18 Units (Normal Range <10 Units)

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 8,7)

Gastritis dx 10/24

Eosinophilia of large bowel dx 10/29

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe that La Choy is an exception and does not have wheat. It would say wheat on the ingredient list if it did. Could you be sensitive to soy?


gluten-free 12/05

diagnosed with Lyme Disease 12/06

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LaChoy does make a gluten free soy sauce (they're regular stuff is made without wheat, as I recall, but as always, CHECK THE LABEL). However, in this food snob's opinion, LaChoy is *nasty* tasting soy sauce, and the flavor of it alone is enough to turn my stomach. :P

(I laugh, but I'm not kidding.)


Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"

Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy

G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004

Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me

Bellevue, WA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soy sauce is really very easy. If it has wheat, it will clearly say so. If it doesn't list it, it's gluten-free.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest nini

LaChoy is gluten free, but as the other food snob stated, it's nasty! I prefer SanJ's Wheat Free Tamari, I can't always afford it so I do get LaChoy for the family, I'll go without before I'll willingly eat LaChoy... (I say willingly, I do put LaChoy in some recipes sometimes but not often)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
LaChoy is gluten free, but as the other food snob stated, it's nasty! I prefer SanJ's Wheat Free Tamari, I can't always afford it so I do get LaChoy for the family, I'll go without before I'll willingly eat LaChoy... (I say willingly, I do put LaChoy in some recipes sometimes but not often)

I laughed and laughed when I read this, because LaChoy is the only soy sauce I like! I have always hated Kikoman like poison .. . so I'm awfully glad that LaChoy is the gluten free brand!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites