Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

loco_ladi

Recall Kellogg

Recommended Posts

My sister is visiting and she just got this in her email, her son has severe allergies and I am posting it here for obvious reasons........

**THE FOOD ALLERGY & ANAPHYLAXIS NETWORK SPECIAL FOOD ALLERGY ALERT NOTICE**

WHEAT ALLERGY ALERT

November 12, 2007

Kellogg Company is recalling a limited number of Kellogg


Just my .00000002 cents worth

If I knew what I was doing years ago I would have half a clue today!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online.

I think that you are confused between MALT and MALTODEXTRIN. Maltodextrin, which in the US is generally derived from corn. If it is not corn, it by law will be listed as "maltodextrin (wheat) on the ingredients disclosure or it will be listed in the allergen warning. It is not necessarily true for outside the US> :)

Malt is NOT gluten free. <_< Malt is barley derived.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malt

loco, thanks for posting. :)


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online.

What??! :blink: We've been avoiding any cereal with malt flavoring in it. I think I will start calling though. My son had a box of gluten free sour gummy bears and I casually read the second ingredient line and it said malt flavoring. I nearly had a heart attack :o , but it was corn malt flavoring (the corn part was on the first line).


Jenny

Son 6 yrs old, Positive blood work, Outstanding dietary response, no biopsy.

Household mostly gluten free since 3/07

Me: HLA-DQ 02 & 0302 (DQ 08), which I ran & analyzed myself!Currently gluten lite, negative tTG, asymptomatic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Thanks for posting

This cereal is not safe for celiacs it has malt in it. So it should be avoided anyway.

Does anyone know if this is corn malt? I sure mix crispix cereal :unsure:


Sweetfudge

Born and raised in Portland, OR; Currently living in Provo, UT

Gluten-free since June 2006

Also living with Hypoglycemia since 1991

Dairy-free for good since summer 2008

Started IBS diet and probiotics at GI's recommendation - Fall 2008

Also avoiding: potatoes, beans, crucifers, popcorn, most red meat, coconut milk :(

Started eating a Paleo diet Spring 2011. Love it!

The grass is always greener where you water it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Here's their ingredient list:

Ingredients

MILLED CORN, RICE, BROWN SUGAR, SALT, MALT FLAVORING, BAKING SODA, ASCORBIC ACID (VITAMIN C), IRON, NIACINAMIDE, TURMERIC COLOR, ZINC OXIDE, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B6), RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2), THIAMIN HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B1), VITAMIN A PALMITATE, FOLIC ACID, VITAMIN B12 AND VITAMIN D.

Allergen Information

CORN USED IN THIS PRODUCT CONTAINS TRACES OF SOYBEANS.

I would bet the "malt flavoring" is barley-derived, which we all know does NOT have to be labeled as an allergen. Contact the company to be sure, but I certainly wouldn't eat it because of the malt

(not to mention the allergen statement says the corn used contains traces of soybeans too).


Diagnosed Fibromyalgia & osteoarthritis in multiple joints 12/06

Diagnosed gluten intolerant through dietary trials 8/07

Enterolab positive for gluten, casein, soy, egg

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 1,1 (Subtype 6,6)

Gluten free 8/10/07

Casein free 8/27/07

Soy & egg free 9/8/07

Eggs back again (whoo hoo!) 11/08

Diagnosed chronic fatigue syndrome 12/09

Starting various supplements/vitamins in hopes of feeling better!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

..... The recalled cereal comes in a 12-oz. package .....

That's a very odd size package. Most cereals come in at least a 20 oz box unless it's those tiny little individual serving boxes.

Plus, I agree with the others, it has malt in it.

best regards, lm


gluten-free 12-18-06

colonoscopy, upper GI
blood, urine, stool tests, prometheus panel
positive endoscopy/positive duodenal biopsies (severe villous atrophy, high intraepithelial lympocytes)
diagnosed celiac disease by Gastroenterologist Andrew R. Gottesman, 12-18-06

"Sobriety sucks. That's why they invented booze in the first place." Denis Leary - Rescue Me

Beware the chocolate of Chiapa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

"malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online."

This is WRONG, WRONG, WRONG. Virtually all malt in the U.S. food comes from barley.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

"malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online."

This is WRONG, WRONG, WRONG. Virtually all malt in the U.S. food comes from barley.

that's what I thought too.


Sweetfudge

Born and raised in Portland, OR; Currently living in Provo, UT

Gluten-free since June 2006

Also living with Hypoglycemia since 1991

Dairy-free for good since summer 2008

Started IBS diet and probiotics at GI's recommendation - Fall 2008

Also avoiding: potatoes, beans, crucifers, popcorn, most red meat, coconut milk :(

Started eating a Paleo diet Spring 2011. Love it!

The grass is always greener where you water it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter