Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

I guess this was foolish on my part but I never ever considered soda an issue, although I do not drink it often and usually drink sprite anyways. :( I was drinking Dr. Pepper about a week ago and I got the big D big time and for the life of me I couldn't figure it out. Caramel color I assume is the issue?

Makes me sick just to think about it. I need to review a hidden glutens list again. We have become so much better at reading labels but this one just caught me by surprise.

Is this how cc happens at a bar? Is the pop dispenser is the problem?


~Barb

Gluten Free October 18, 2007

YIPPEE for Gluten free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Caramel Color in the USA is supposedly gluten free although outside US it can be made from Barley Malt.

I have never had a problem with caramel color and I eat a lot of stuff with it in it - I don't drink soda often but I have had both Coke and Dr. Pepper and Pepsi and Dr. Pip and many others that have caramel color in them with no problem.

OH, Coca-cola and Pepsi products are all gluten free according to multiple lists as well as their own websites.

Here is a cut and paste from the Coca Cola site about caramel color: It is made from corn.

Caramel color is derived from corn or cane sugar. It is made commercially by heating sugar and other carbohydrates under controlled conditions to achieve the desired color. Caramel color is approved by the FDA and is safe.

Additionally, there is no food coloring in caramel coloring.

back1.jpg


Franceen

Diagnosed DH by Allergist via gluten-free Diet Success

Gluten-free since Dec 2005

Gluten-free works so why keep getting tests?

Neg skin biopsy & Neg bloodwork after gluten-free for 3 months

No Endoscopy - need to eat gluten for good test & won't do it

No other Allergies or major ailments!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Dr. Pepper is gluten-free, but did you mean that you had it at a bar? If so, there could have been some cross contamination from a nozzle or a glass that was wiped with the same cloth that touched beer, etc.


Patti

"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I guess this was foolish on my part but I never ever considered soda an issue, although I do not drink it often and usually drink sprite anyways. :( I was drinking Dr. Pepper about a week ago and I got the big D big time and for the life of me I couldn't figure it out. Caramel color I assume is the issue?

Makes me sick just to think about it. I need to review a hidden glutens list again. We have become so much better at reading labels but this one just caught me by surprise.

Is this how cc happens at a bar? Is the pop dispenser is the problem?

Hi Barbara,

I don't know about your side, but here in Ireland people drink beer shandies! !

.

The glass is filled to within an inch of the top with beer and then the 'soda pop' is added,

if it is the same over there it could be CC.

.

Not all 'soda pop' colouring is caramel it could also be 'Beta-Carotene' I know this was found

to be my Migraine Headache trigger when i did a complete allergy assay test.

.

Maybe if you drink 'soda pop' in the future get it in a bottle and not from a multi flavour dispenser.

.

Best Regards,

David


Chronically Ill and lost 56lbs in 3 Months Prior to Diagnosis.

Diagnosed in Nov 2005 after Biopsy and Blood Tests

Cannot tolerate Codex Wheat Starch.

Self Taught Baker.

Bake everything from scratch using naturally gluten-free ingredients.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I don't know about your side, but here in Ireland people drink beer shandies! !

.

The glass is filled to within an inch of the top with beer and then the 'soda pop' is added,

if it is the same over there it could be CC.

This is a very uncommon drink in the states. I make them a lot, and the first few times my friends asked "what the heck are you doing????" Bars in general make me nervous. Heck, I've watched them pour a beer then reach into the bucket of lemons/limes, and possibly CC them. It's not a ideal situation, but I'll admit that I still pretty much drink what I want in a bar and don't worry about this stuff. Maybe I should worry more. If I were more sensitive I probably would worry.


Gluten-Free since September 15, 2005.

Peanut-Free since July 2006.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Hmmm, I am having some issues from something then and I dont know what. Day in and day out I am fine and then all of a sudden when I started drinking the pop I got sick so I assumed that was it. If it isn't the pop then I am going to have to figure it out.

I was drinking the pop at home so I just assumed it was the issue. Of course after I gave up the pop I started eating cadbury mini eggs. Cripes!

Probably I just need to drop all the extra foods and eat a simple diet for a bit to get my tummy back under control. Worse yet we have plans to go out tonight as both my sons had their birthday this past week.

So how does a person drink at a bar without getting sick? Smirnoff ice that comes in a bottle? Blech. I mean its ok but it isn't my fav, lime makes it better but that brings in the cc issues.

ARGH the more I think about this the worse it is getting!


~Barb

Gluten Free October 18, 2007

YIPPEE for Gluten free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

We can't have Smirnoff Ice, due to malt flavoring. In fact we can only have certain flavors of Smirnoff at all.

We can have alcoholic ciders like Woodchuck.

I often drink Jack N Coke, and Tequila drinks when I am out. I have not had cc. I watch them when they make my drink and if it looked like they were dipping stuff into beer or anything, I wouldn't order.

I have acquired a taste for wine since becoming celiac. I like chiante.


Gluten Free since November 2005

.

"If you want breakfast in bed, sleep in the kitchen.." ---Ed Polish

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Smirnoff Ice, in the USA, is a malt beverage and is NOT safe.

Well then that might explain a few things!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :angry::angry::angry:

Just when I think I have this figured out I learn something else. Why on earth did I not understand this?


~Barb

Gluten Free October 18, 2007

YIPPEE for Gluten free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Hi Barbara,

I don't know about your side, but here in Ireland people drink beer shandies! !

.

The glass is filled to within an inch of the top with beer and then the 'soda pop' is added,

if it is the same over there it could be CC.

.

Not all 'soda pop' colouring is caramel it could also be 'Beta-Carotene' I know this was found

to be my Migraine Headache trigger when i did a complete allergy assay test.

.

Maybe if you drink 'soda pop' in the future get it in a bottle and not from a multi flavour dispenser.

.

Best Regards,

David

David, I have not heard of that before. The only thing similar was V8 and beer or apple cider and beer, neither of which sound good to me!

I am getting very confused on all this stuff, caramel color is or isn't safe? One place I read it is another place I read it isn't. Obviously there is a lot of misinformation.


~Barb

Gluten Free October 18, 2007

YIPPEE for Gluten free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter