Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

GFJo

Newbie, Longtime Lurker

Hello fellow gluten-free folk!!

It's taken me 10 months but I've finally summoned the courage to join in. I've never posted anywhere online before and I feel ridiculously nervous. I'm not used to putting myself out there.

My gluten-free journey started last summer when I finally took my doctor's advice (seems I have one of the good docs). She'd suggested to me numerous times to try a gluten-free diet, but I was sure that wasn't the problem. Until I was so sick I didn't know what else to do. So I tried the diet, er new way of life, and to my utter amazement I got better, within days. And there's been no looking back.

I've been through the doubt, and anger, and depression, and I think I've finally reached acceptance. I'm still learning the finer details of hidden ingredients, and I seem to slip up more than I should. My symptoms seem to be pretty classic for Celiac (although no official diagnosis): bloating, gas, diarrhea, excessively tired, then angry, and my face will almost instantly break out. I think I may also have a wheat allergy because I get itchy if I touch wheat, and once I got a crumb on my lower eyelid (don't ask me how!) and my eye swelled up for almost 24 hours.

I live in a rural area and I have yet to meet anyone else gluten-free. Although I know they must be out there because the Kinnikinik (spelling?) pizza crusts are always selling out! There are no support groups in my area, and I'm getting a little tired of not having anyone to talk to.

I've been reading these boards for months and it has been a huge help, if not a lifesaver, for me. Thank you all for helping me through a tough time. I hope I can now return the favor to newcomers.

GFJo

Gluten Free since 6/07

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):