Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Cynbd

Shrimp Cocktail Sauce & Worschester Sauce

Recommended Posts

Does anyone recommend a good shrimp cocktail sauce? I used to use Maria's, but I can't find any contact information so I can't ask, they only have a mailing address on their jar and google isn't helping.

I am ok with making my own, but doesn't Worcestershire sauce have malt or something in it that is not gluten free?


Cindy

Gluten Free since November 2006

Lactose Intolerant since 1980

100% Lactose Free since May 2006

Caffeine Free since August 2007

Hashimoto's Disease

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Worcestershire sauce may contain malt. It depends on the brand, and with some brands, the formula varies by country.

In the United States, Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce is gluten-free. In Canada, Lea & Perrins contains malt vinegar and thus, gluten. :angry:


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am ok with making my own, but doesn't Worcestershire sauce have malt or something in it that is not gluten free?


Kathy

Gluten free 3/08

Negative blood work/positive endoscopy

Fructose Malabsorption

Soy free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am ok with making my own, but doesn't Worcestershire sauce have malt or something in it that is not gluten free?

My husband used to be a GM of a red lobster in his younger days and we always make their recipe. Here's a gluten free version:

1/2 cup of Heinz ketchup

1 tsp spoon of worcestershire sauce (lea and parrins usa)

1 tablespoon of Horseradish (all manischewitz varietys, Baxters, di lusso, or hyvee)

splash of lemon juice

1/4 tsp of franks original hot sauce

makes a tasty cocktail sauce. You can double it etc and also play with the ingredients to taste if you like it hotter or milder.

That's what I do. But, I think that McCormicks Cocktail Sauce is gluten free (last that I looked)


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you everyone for all your responses. During the holidays I bought a jar of Marina Cocktail sauce, but I couldn't tell if it was safe so I didn't eat it. It was made at a Seattle company, but there wasn't a phone number and I couldn't find the company so I couldn't ask.

I am graduating in a couple of weeks (woo hoo) and since I can't eat out I get to have a week of finals, clean my house, and prepare food for my party all because of this stupid diet. But at least I should be able to eat safely!

I am going to try and keep it simple, but it's still a lot of work. ugh... But I gotta celebrate... Hopefully my kids and my dh will cooperate and actually HELP :P they usually help by making more work tho...


Cindy

Gluten Free since November 2006

Lactose Intolerant since 1980

100% Lactose Free since May 2006

Caffeine Free since August 2007

Hashimoto's Disease

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use Kraft Shrimp Cocktail Sauce, and I also use Walmart brand Worsterschire sauce.


Sweetfudge

Born and raised in Portland, OR; Currently living in Provo, UT

Gluten-free since June 2006

Also living with Hypoglycemia since 1991

Dairy-free for good since summer 2008

Started IBS diet and probiotics at GI's recommendation - Fall 2008

Also avoiding: potatoes, beans, crucifers, popcorn, most red meat, coconut milk :(

Started eating a Paleo diet Spring 2011. Love it!

The grass is always greener where you water it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Obviously I can't say that every cocktail sauce is gluten-free, but I haven't found one that isn't. McCormick, Blackwell and Cross (??), Kraft, Private Selection, Kroger, and so on.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't seen McCormick at my local Albertsons, but they sell Del Monte... I emailed them and they said theirs is gluten free. So I guess for convenience sake I can always pick that one up.

Here' there response FYI:

Thank you for your interest in Del Monte Seafood Cocktail Sauce. We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your e-mail.

Del Monte Seafood Cocktail Sauce is gluten free.

The list below includes all current Del Monte consumer products that, to the best of our knowledge, do not contain wheat, oats, rye or barley/malt ingredients. The list may change or may not be complete due to formula changes or new product introductions. It's always best to read the ingredient statement on the label for the most current information.

Del Monte Gluten-Free Products

- All Del Monte and S&W Canned/Jarred Fruits

- All Del Monte Fruit Snack Cups (Metal and Plastic, includes Del Monte Fruit Chillers)

- All Del Monte and S&W Canned Vegetables (excluding S&W Canned Dry Bean products which are now produced and distributed by Faribault Foods)

- All Del Monte, Contadina, and S&W Tomatoes & Tomato Products (except Del Monte Spaghetti Sauce Flavored with Meat, and Contadina Tomato Paste with Italian Herbs)

- Del Monte Harvest Selections Santa Fe Style Rice & Beans, and Homestyle Chili with Beans

- Del Monte 100% Fruit Juices

- StarKist Tuna (except Tuna Creations Herb & Garlic, Tuna Fillet Teriyaki, and the crackers in Lunch Kits)

- College Inn Garden Vegetable Broth and College Inn Organic Beef Broth.


Cindy

Gluten Free since November 2006

Lactose Intolerant since 1980

100% Lactose Free since May 2006

Caffeine Free since August 2007

Hashimoto's Disease

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites