This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Bread Machine

sasso217

sasso217 Newbie

Hello - I am new to the Celiac world and find these forums extremely helpful for hints and ideas. I would like to know if anyone uses a bread machine? I have found two that offer a gluten free setting, but I am not convinced I need to spend the money yet. If anyone uses a bread machine, can you please give me some guidance?

Appreciate any comments.

Thanks

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Tim-n-VA Contributor

I can tell you that I didn't want to spend the money for the expensive Zojirushi brand that gets rave reviews. I bought the Sunbeam 5891 model for about 1/4 the price.

It is described as "programmable" but really it has 10 pre-defined programs that you can only add time as an adjustment. You could argue whether that is really programmable. It doesn't not have a gluten-free program.

I mostly use it to make the Pamela's brand mix. It works great for that on the standard setting. I've tried some other brands with less success.

Bottom line is that if you think you'll really need/use the programmable features, buy a higher end machine but if you like the basic mix bread from Pamela's, a cheaper machine is sufficient.

As a more general statement, I'd recommend you look on Amazon for any model you are considering and read some of the reviews at each "star" level.

sasso217 Newbie
I can tell you that I didn't want to spend the money for the expensive Zojirushi brand that gets rave reviews. I bought the Sunbeam 5891 model for about 1/4 the price.