Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts

Ads by Google:

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts


  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About MicheleInAS

  • Rank
    New Community Member
  • Birthday

Contact Methods

  • MSN
  • Website URL
  • ICQ
  • Yahoo

Profile Information

  • Interests
    quilting; reading; baking; rubber stamping
  • Location
    American Samoa
  1. I, too, am glad to hear that caramel color made in the US is gluten-free, as the only book I have said it was forbidden! I was just in a panic today over the caramel color in diet Coke, as I drank one yesterday without thinking. I hope the "natural flavoring" listed on the label is also gluten-free. Guess I better find out. sigh. I was only diagnosed celiac a week ago, and this is all so new to me. Thanks a bunch.
  2. I am a real newbie to celiac disease (diagnosed one week ago) but I was diagnosed in New Zealand, where the product selection is definitely different than in the U.S. One of the few gluten-free products I have tried is a rice/quinoa spaghetti made by Corelli, in Bolivia. I couldn't tell this pasta from regular, not in taste nor texture nor how it cooked, how it was after sitting out, refrigerated as leftovers, nothing. I wonder if any of the US stores offers this brand? I am a baker (using wheat in my previous life ) and know that making your own pasta is a drag even with wheat. Never tried it without, sorry.
  3. I am newly diagnosed with celiac disease, and live in American Samoa. I just visited my local grocery store with an eye for gluten-free items for the first time. They had three gluten-free flours available: sweet rice (white), acorn, and mung bean. I can't find acorn or mung bean flours in any recipe or posting anywhere. Has anyone else ever come across these flours? What can I do with them? Thanks in advance for the advice.