Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Are Dill Pickles Safe To Eat?


sillyyak

Recommended Posts

sillyyak Enthusiast

Are Kosher dill pickles safe to eat? The jar said they had vingear in it but I am not sure. Please advise. Thank you


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



jennyj Collaborator

I have never had any problems but you may be more sensitive than I am. I use Vlasic. Good luck.

psawyer Proficient

Vinegar (with the exception of malt vinegar) is generally accepted as gluten-free. Nevertheless, some people do have problems with vinegar. Malt vinegar will be labelled as such. If it just says vinegar, enjoy!

tiredofdoctors Enthusiast

Thanks for asking that . . . I was wondering it myself. I love Claussen pickles . . . but haven't eaten them since being gluten-free because I was too scared.

penguin Community Regular

Pickles are almost always made with plain old white vinegar, and that's always distilled. I imagine pickles made with malt vinegar would be pretty gross :P

ravenwoodglass Mentor
Are Kosher dill pickles safe to eat? The jar said they had vingear in it but I am not sure. Please advise. Thank you

I react to grain vinagers but not to a distilled corn vinager. I usually call the company to find out what they use. Pickles are also easy to make yourself. I use Heinz white distilled vinager in mine because I know that it is from corn. We have a wegmans here that labels all their gluten-free stuff and only a few of the pickles they make have the gluten free label. That is kind of red flag for me. I find when in doubt call is the best, plus sometimes the company will send gluten-free lists and coupons.

RiceGuy Collaborator

Interesting. I was just reading that mayonnaise can contain gluten, apparently because of the vinegar. So maybe pickles do too. I haven't ever looked since I generally avoid vinegar because it promotes yeast growth.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Aega Newbie

I was always told Heinz / French's / Hellmann's brand condiments were safe (because of the way they distill their vinegar). I've used Hellmann's mayo, French's mustard, and Heinz brand pickles, ketchup, & BBQ sauce without problems.

While on the topic of condiments, I called Old El Paso about their salsa, apparently that's gluten free as well. However, Tostito's brand is not (found that out the hard way).

  • 6 years later...
AlexisMM Newbie

Are Kosher dill pickles safe to eat? The jar said they had vingear in it but I am not sure. Please advise. Thank you

There are some brands of pickles that are fermented and don't contain vinegar of any kind. Bubbie's is one brand that I know of. I find them in health food stores in the refrigerated section. And don't be alarmed by the cloudy brine--it's supposed to be that way. They also have wonderful sauerkraut. Yay Bubbies!

kareng Grand Master

Please note that this thread is 6 years old. Product info discussed may have changed in 6 years.

Most vinegar is considered safe for Celiacs. The exception is Malt vinegar which contains barley malt.

  • 1 year later...
mynxr Rookie

Please note that this thread is 6 years old. Product info discussed may have changed in 6 years.

Most vinegar is considered safe for Celiacs. The exception is Malt vinegar which contains barley malt.

There are a lot of brands of pickles that I can't eat.  I have always been told to stay clear of things that say natural flavors because that can get you into trouble.  I know I react to some dill pickles so not all pickles being safe is still true

kareng Grand Master

There are a lot of brands of pickles that I can't eat. I have always been told to stay clear of things that say natural flavors because that can get you into trouble. I know I react to some dill pickles so not all pickles being safe is still true

Once again, you have dredged up a very old thread. There is no reason to believe there is gluten in pickles. I have never seen it. Please explain which brands and perhaps link to the ingredients? Having a " reaction" to something does not mean it has gluten. Perhaps there are spices or just the acid that bothers you?

  • 5 years later...
Daphne do Collaborator

I just read that sulfate might be in pickles I am allergic to sulfate so if this is true that is why I feel itchy after eating them I honestly didn't notice it till my boyfriend said people are saying pickles make them sick  then I felt itchy everywhere even in my mouth I had vlasic pickles the jar said gluten free and my stomach doesn't hurt but I do itch I just ate them also maybe an hour ago 

  • 2 weeks later...
notme Experienced

this is a really old thread, although it has been resurrected several times!  lolz - I eat pickles, I eat claussen pickles - I like it when the label says 'white wine vinegar' or 'cider vinegar' or 'distilled vinegar' or better yet, as kosher pickles should be: cured with kosher salt...…  but even the plain old 'vinegar' is supposed to be deemed safe. 

I find it easier to make my own pickles.  all you need are cukes, salt, water, and whatever spices you want, like dill or pickling spices.  I like a little dill with some crushed red pepper, leave the cukes submerged under the salt brine for a few days or however long you want to ferment them ( I love half sours - only take a few days)  but I can eat store-bought pickles as long as they don't have MALT vinegar which is made from barley.

sulphites are not gluten - if you have a sulphate problem, you best be reading all your bacon and sandwich meat labels!

as usual, alllllllllllllllll y'allllllllllllllll read your labels!!  

if anybody wants to further discuss the finer or darker side(s) of pickle ingredients or consumption, please let this old thread die a natural death and start one from this decade, lolz!!!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,195
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    peebo
    Newest Member
    peebo
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • WednesdayAddams13
      Hello,   I contacted the makers of Alpine Original Spiced Cider Drink Mix and they sent me this email.....   Subject: [EXTERNAL] Fw: Ref. ID:1335211 Alpine Original Spiced Cider Drink Mix.               On Friday, December 6, 2024, 1:04 PM, Consumer <baking@continentalmills.com> wrote: December 06, 2024   Dear Janie, Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding our Alpine Original Spiced Cider Drink Mix. We appreciate your interest and are happy to provide you with additional information. This product does not contain gluten. However, it is not manufactured in a gluten free facility. If I can be of further help, please contact me at 1 (800) 457-7744, weekdays 7:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (PT), or visit www.alpinecider.com and select "Contact Us." Sincerely, Kristin Kristin Consumer Relations Specialist Ref # 1335211   I hope this helps everyone.  I am currently looking for a spiced hot apple cider drink and have yet to find one that is not made in a plant that manufactures other gluten products.  It's so frustrating. 
    • trents
      @Rogol72, dermatitis herpetiformis occurs in a minority of celiac patients and if the OP hasn't developed it yet I doubt it will show up in the future. I think it unwise to use a scare tactic that probably won't materialize in the OP's experience. It has a good chance of backfiring and having the opposite effect.
    • Rogol72
      Hi @trents, You're correct. The OP mentioned fatigue and vitamin deficiencies as the only symptoms at the time of diagnosis. Since the family are not taking him/her seriously and find them to be too fussy, I suggested showing them pictures of dermatitis herpetiformis as one of the consequences of not taking the gluten-free diet seriously ... would make life easier for him/her, and the family might begin to take his/her strict gluten-free diet more seriously. A picture says a thousand words and the shock factor of dermatitis herpetiformis blisters might have the desired effect. The OP did say ... "How do you deal with people close to you who just refuse to understand? Are there any resources anyone could recommend for families that are short and easy to read?".  @sillyyak52, It might also help mentioning to your family that Coeliac Disease is genetic and runs in families. Any one of them could develop it in the future if they have the HLA DQ 2.5 gene. Here's a Mayo Clinic study calling for screening of family members of Coeliacs ... https://newsnetwork.mayoclinic.org/discussion/mayo-clinic-minute-celiac-disease-screening-for-family-members/ https://newsnetwork.mayoclinic.org/discussion/mayo-clinic-study-calls-for-screening-of-family-members-of-celiac-disease-patients/ I got glutened a few months ago because I missed the may contains statement on a tub of red pesto. It was my own fault but it happens.
    • peg
      Thank you, Scott!  This is just what I needed.  Appreciate your site very much and all of your time and energy that goes into it! Kind Regards, Peg
    • Hopeful1950
      Oh yes.  I would never recommend taking it for an extended period of time.  When 70% of my body was covered in blistering itchy sores, an amazing doctor prescribed it diagnostically because I was unwilling to do a gluten challenge after already going strictly gluten-free in desperation after 10 years of suffering and being poo pooed by dermatologist after dermatologist. The fact that it stopped the itch and mostly cleared the rash after about 2 months was diagnostic for him.  I stopped it and have remained strictly gluten-free with very few flares since that time (over 10 years ago).  So the fact that it cleared the rash was diagnostic for me.     
×
×
  • Create New...