Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
positivenrgfairy

Starbucks

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

starbucks claims they are gluten-free with a few exceptions.

why do i get a reaction when I go there?!?! I ordered a caramel latte with skim milk, and about 2 hours later i started feeling depressed bloated and confused.

i would swear it couldn't be anything else making me have this reaction. of course, i could have kissed my husband or picked up a crumb somewhere, but starbucks has made me sick before so it seems a likely culprit.

i think ive read here before that starbucks makes some people have a reaction, so is it just me?!?!

it seems im getting cross contaminated so often im starting to be afraid that im having a reaction to something other than gluten. maybe i just don't know my chemicals well enough, which is definitely a partial culprit.

i feel F%$King awful right now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What about dairy? I think I am reacting to it had a hot chocolate yesterday and rash went crazy. The only other thing I had was Pamela's cookies, and Trader Joe gluten-free curry chicken tenders with fresh organic veggies.

I am also going decaf.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

it is def. not dairy. i eat cheese all the time and don't have a problem with it.

I have this same reaction when I drink starbucks with soy.

\could it be caramel coloring? is that gluten-free or not?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've given up on starbucks...always have some sort of reaction when I go there :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I've given up on starbucks...always have some sort of reaction when I go there :(

Ditto. I always get sick after ordering their drinks (which I get with soy and no whip, for the record).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I end up meeting a lot of customers at coffee shops for meetings.

I personally do not like coffee, but every Starbucks I've been into I've been told that they are not gluten-free by the manager/employee. Nothing that comes out of their equipment is gluten-free including the hot chocolate.

The local coffee shop in town I get the same a reaction and she has gone through everything they use and can find no trace of gluten, but I get sick even there.

There has to be some unlisted ingredient.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have always thought it was CC in the Starbucks. I have my own small coffee bar in my flower shop and I have had to give up coffee. It gave me tremors. It's not the caffeine as I have more of that now. I also found I was having a gluten reaction to some of my syrups. The company swears it can't be but I was reacting to the syrups with caramel coloring. They are made outside of the US but I couldn't find out where. When I stopped using those, I cleared up and no more reaction.

I don't know what you are reacting to but take it seriously. Even if you can't figure it out, just accept it and don't buy there any more.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I LOVE starbucks. The only place I go anymore. Registered card give free syrup and soy, saves 90cents which really adds up. I get ToffeeNut Soy Latte. I used to have caramel sauce mochas and then i went to carmel syrup and found out there IS caramel coloring in most the syrups (caramel coloring is gluten, my body knew it). just ask to see the ingredients. the toffee nut is a clear syrup which i think is what makes it okay for me. Try it, it's awesome!!

Marsha

-self diagnosed gluten/dairy intollerant

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

VERY confused here. What if you drink it black? From what I've learned, Starbuck's black coffee is gluten-free. Any thoughts?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Black coffee is gluten-free that is really not the issue. The issue is that there is a big chance for CC in a restaurant and for people that are ultra sensitive, even coffee can be a problem. I would think in Starbucks, black drip brew coffee would be the safest. If you have coffee there and don't react, then you're good. But some folks cannot feel well when they buy drinks there. It's an individual thing. The OP was searching for reasons for a reaction. I think we all are throwing out ideas to that problem.

I did not mean to imply that I personally had a gluten reaction to coffee. The tremors I was experiencing were different and they stopped when I stopped the coffee. My syrups did cause a gluten reaction which cleared up when I stopped using them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I LOVE starbucks. The only place I go anymore. Registered card give free syrup and soy, saves 90cents which really adds up. I get ToffeeNut Soy Latte. I used to have caramel sauce mochas and then i went to carmel syrup and found out there IS caramel coloring in most the syrups (caramel coloring is gluten, my body knew it). just ask to see the ingredients. the toffee nut is a clear syrup which i think is what makes it okay for me. Try it, it's awesome!!

Marsha

-self diagnosed gluten/dairy intollerant

Carmel coloring is gluten free in the US-- even if it is manufactured outside of the US it has to match US standards to be served in the US. So i wouldnt blame the carmel coloring. I go to Starbucks all the time and have no problem. Things that DO have gluten there is the Tazo Green Ginger tea, the vanilla in the shakers and sprinkles.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ditto for me too.

I've given up on starbucks...always have some sort of reaction when I go there :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Carmel coloring is gluten free in the US-- even if it is manufactured outside of the US it has to match US standards to be served in the US. So i wouldnt blame the carmel coloring. I go to Starbucks all the time and have no problem. Things that DO have gluten there is the Tazo Green Ginger tea, the vanilla in the shakers and sprinkles.

Yep--I also go to Starbucks frequently, am super sensitive, and have not had a problem. I don't drink coffee, but I do get tea lattes a lot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Carmel coloring is gluten free in the US-- even if it is manufactured outside of the US it has to match US standards to be served in the US. So i wouldnt blame the carmel coloring. I go to Starbucks all the time and have no problem. Things that DO have gluten there is the Tazo Green Ginger tea, the vanilla in the shakers and sprinkles.

Thank you for the info about the vanilla in the shakers!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, with Starbucks it is so hit or miss that I am kinda not into having coffees there anymore. I am actually glad that I am not the only one with this dilema. The latest was likely a peppermint soy mocha sans whip that got me. Im sick of that, so I just have chosen to only get tea or black coffee there!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×