Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
Flasaltwater

Omg I Just Had Vinegar In My Chicken Salad Im Itching

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

OMG I am itching all over. I was looking back at everything I ate today googled the ingrediants with the word gluten in it and omg Viniger is Taboo. Really?? I had Chicken saled that has viniger in it. I am beltching, indijestion and itching all over and snapping at coworkes. I'm miserable can someone offer some advice for relief.

Uggggg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With the specific exception of malt vinegar, which will always be labeled as that, "malt vinegar," vinegar is gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With the specific exception of malt vinegar, which will always be labeled as that, "malt vinegar," vinegar is gluten-free.

Ok good don't know what kind but it just says Vinegar on label. I looked up the other ingredients didn't see anything that looked suspicious but I'm new to this so I have no idea what I'm doing anyway all I know is all Ive had today is a Gluten Free Bagel with Chicken salad bought out of the Deli at out Publix grocery store. Then I had 1 Gluten free Cookie and a Banana. I've been starting to feel pretty good up until this afternoon.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The deli doesn't add bread crumbs to the chicken salad? The one near my house does....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Though I have read that vinegars are fine except malt vinegars, some rice wine vinegar contains gluten (I have seen a few brands in a specialty ethnic store in Canada that actually had "wheat" on the label). Most are fine, though, but still wise to check.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the US, the single word "vinegar" listed as an ingredient is apple cider vinegar. It is likely distilled, but even if it isn't, apples are gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the US, the single word "vinegar" listed as an ingredient is apple cider vinegar. It is likely distilled, but even if it isn't, apples are gluten-free.

Where did you find information that "vinegar" in the US is apple cider vinegar? I looked up Hellmann's mayonnaise, and it lists "vinegar" in the ingredients. The Best Foods website says, "The vinegar in Hellmann

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was this chicken salad specifically labeled gluten free ? Because who knows what was really in it. They could have marinated the chicken meat before cooking it, etc. And what about the work surfaces the bagel was exposed to, etc, in terms of cross contamination.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was this chicken salad specifically labeled gluten free ? Because who knows what was really in it. They could have marinated the chicken meat before cooking it, etc. And what about the work surfaces the bagel was exposed to, etc, in terms of cross contamination.

No it was not labeled gluten-free It was a mixed Chicken salad out of the deli it was in a little plastic container labeled Chunky white chicken breast with herbal dressing. There was also an ingredient label. I toasted my gluten-free bagel in our toaster at work. I wasn't around any other bread or anything at the time.

This is weird I feel better this morning. I actually had to take one of my husband Hydroxyzine's and knock myself out. I was itching so bad.. I still have D so I couldn't go by that since I had only been gluten-free for 5 days another thing strange that happened that I noticed was my lips were tingling when I was eating. I swear I'm falling apart.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I toasted my gluten-free bagel in our toaster at work. I wasn't around any other bread or anything at the time.

Did you put it in a toaster bag, or on foil, or use some other method to make sure it wasn't touching the metal racks that all the other toast touches?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No it was not labeled gluten-free It was a mixed Chicken salad out of the deli it was in a little plastic container labeled Chunky white chicken breast with herbal dressing. There was also an ingredient label. I toasted my gluten-free bagel in our toaster at work. I wasn't around any other bread or anything at the time.

This is weird I feel better this morning. I actually had to take one of my husband Hydroxyzine's and knock myself out. I was itching so bad.. I still have D so I couldn't go by that since I had only been gluten-free for 5 days another thing strange that happened that I noticed was my lips were tingling when I was eating. I swear I'm falling apart.

You can't use the same toaster for gluten free bread that others are using for gluten bread. You need a dedicated toaster.

If the deli uses any gluten containing ingredients in anything else there is a high chance of CC in it. Better to make your own at home than buy store made.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Did you put it in a toaster bag, or on foil, or use some other method to make sure it wasn't touching the metal racks that all the other toast touches?"

Whats a toaster bag? No I did not use foil I stuck it in our toaster/oven to be toasted. It has to touch the metal to sit down in there.

What have I done??

You can't use the same toaster for gluten free bread that others are using for gluten bread. You need a dedicated toaster.

If the deli uses any gluten containing ingredients in anything else there is a high chance of CC in it. Better to make your own at home than buy store made.

OK I messed up. I guess I better get my own toaster oven for work. I'm sure the boss wont care he is very nice and has his own issues.

I can make my own no problem. I guess I thought if I didn't see the word wheat or Gluten I was OK a lot of the ingredients I did not understand so I Googled but still didn't quite understand but because none said wheat or Gluten I still thought I was OK.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought I was ok with some vegetable stir fry as there was no gluten or wheat in the ingredients (only vegetables). However I later found that it was not suitable for those on a wheat or gluten free diet due to the methods used in manufacture. I wondered why I was feeling off after eating it. I was beginning to think it was the mushrooms or something and that I had another food sensitivity...

I think its easier to buy fresh stuff and make your own lol

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With the itching and lip tingling swelling it sounds like a histamine response more than a gluten reaction to me. You are fairly new in the recovery process so you will have to learn about all the ways of being cross-contaminated and where trace gluten can hide. But sometimes there is something else going on, and as Celiacs, we are prone to secondary intolerances. I spent most of the last year experimenting with what could cause continuing problems as I was stricly gluten free and never ate anything made by anyone but me. Well, recently I discovered that histamine containing foods cause me to have reactions. They would cause the itching you described and also would be relieved by the hydroxyzine. I'm on a low histamine diet in addition to being gluten free. It wasn't nightshades, after all...nor many of the other things I thought it was. Keep searching for your culprit. But I just wanted to pop in here and let you know that Vinegar is a histamine food. I can't have it either...but it is definitely not due to gluten. Check out Histamine foods if you continue to have reactions you can't pin down to gluten or other intolerances. It's made a big difference for me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×