Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

swatson

Gluten Free Alcohol

Recommended Posts

I love me a margarita, there is nothing better than a little salt and that cuervo-y goodness :D

Just plain old tequila shots are excellent, too. I normally drink cheapo cuervo, but I have fancy stuff I save for special occasions...

Although there are some days when I'd rather have my tequila intravenously :blink:

I'm also a fan of Red Bull & vodka, and starburst shots (flavored vodka dropped into red bull and chugged) they're kind of like girly, gluten free irish car bombs :ph34r:

I learned that shot from former sorority girls that have at least 5 years on me and drank my wimpy butt under the table... :blink:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Funny- years before I ever had problems with any food I always got sick from beer. For some reason vodka makes me really sick too.

I love margaritas. I pay for the better liquors when I get drinks since I'm small and only need 1 or 2 to get drunk. I get mine with Herradura or Sauza. Cuervo is just gross to me. You probably have to watch out for some margarita mixes but lots of restaurants make them from scratch. I also like a lot of rum drinks.

I usually drink cider if I'm in a pub.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What a fun topic! :D

I like Hard Cider ( even before dx- I never drank beer)

I used to love Mikes Hard Lemonade but now I will have to make my own with vodka and lemonde.

I like Mojitos..maybe even love them. My favorite summer drink.

I really like red wine, right now I am on chianti kick.

I also really like Sangria although I haven't had it in awhile.

I LOVE margaritas, I make them with any good tequila, Newman's Lime Aid, a splash of lemon juice..on the rocks in a salted glass.

Wow...I wish it wasn't 3 in the afternoon otherwise I'd actually have one of these yummy drinks right now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am definately a fruity drinker :D But i was wondering if all fruit juices are gluten free...like tropicana, dole, ocean spray, etc. I havent drank since being diagnosed, but my birthday is coming up and I am due for a drink. Is it safe to drink in bars? Thanks guys

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I know that Kahlua is gluten-free, but does anyone know the ingredients? I looked it up and couldn't find it.

Hey I don't know all the ingredients but I do know that it has milk/cream dunno which but I can't do dairy so that ruled it out for me. The bottles have the ingredients on them, or atleast the one I found did! good luck

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

on this topic here is a statement from smirnoff, which is potato vodka, but i was curious about the flavored oness......

February 22, 2006

Thank you for taking time to contact Smirnoff. We appreciate hearing from

our consumers, whether comments are complimentary or critical, because your

feedback is important.

In response to your email, please be advised that Smirnoff Vodka is in fact

gluten free, as well as the Smirnoff Twist flavors. However, the Smirnoff

Twisted V products do contain Gluten. I hope this information has helped and

if you have any other questions or concerns please contact us

Once again, thank you for contacting Smirnoff.

Sincerely,

Adrienne D.

Smirnoff Consumer Response Representative

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest barbara3675

My favorite is Smith and Kearns.....Creme De Cocoa, cream and seltzer. Grown up version of chocolate milk, goes down smooth and easy. This is often made with Kaluah, but I like my version. Barbara

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
FYI,

Smirnoff is distilled from Corn (just in case anyone with a corn allergy is thinking of trying it)

Here are some potato vodkas:

1. Chopin

2. Llewlowosa

3. Teton Glacier

4. Blue Ice

Are any vodkas made from other grains like wheat? Vodka has always made me sick but I'm not sure why.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep, the Smirnoff Twists are gluten-free, my drink of choice! The strawberry is my favorite.

My question is about liqueurs....are all of them okay? I don't really know much about their ingredients.

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sasha, thanks for the info. that was my concern, too. i found a mock kahlua recipe and i'm going to test it out sometime. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ketel one, on the rocks, w/ a lime. OR a ketel one martini straight up w/ a twist. Those are my drinks. But ive never been known to turn down a nice glass of red wine either...

No wonder we get along so well.. Ketel One with 7 and lemon (or lime) for me. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Are any vodkas made from other grains like wheat? Vodka has always made me sick but I'm not sure why.

yes - i had the same problem - here's another post with info from stoli saying most vodkas are made from wheat:

http://www.glutenfreeforum.com/index.php?s...ndpost&p=106484

I recommend Lukosawa - it's inexpensive Polish vodka made from potatoes.

:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kahlua, Kamora, & Amarula are gluten free.

I went to Baileys site, under frequently asked questions. Quote:

Q 4. I am allergic to Gluten/Egg/Lactose/Nuts. Does Baileys contain Gluten/Egg/Lactose/Nuts

A. Gluten: Please be advised that the whiskey used in Baileys is manufactured by fermenting grain, which contains gluten. Due to the presence of gluten in the whiskey components before distillation we cannot absolutely guarantee that there are no effects to coeliacs. As we are not qualified to give medical advice persons requiring a gluten-free diet must consult their medical adviser before consuming Baileys.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yep, the Smirnoff Twists are gluten-free, my drink of choice! The strawberry is my favorite.

My question is about liqueurs....are all of them okay? I don't really know much about their ingredients.

Thanks

So you think that means the regular smirnoff ice is gluten-free too? Hope so, I have been drinking them with no problem....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
So you think that means the regular smirnoff ice is gluten-free too? Hope so, I have been drinking them with no problem....

I do not drink Smirnoff Ice, however, I do know that it is either not gluten free in Canada or America... I'm sorry, I forget which one. But I wanted to warn you, and perhaps someone else can clarify this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I do not drink Smirnoff Ice, however, I do know that it is either not gluten free in Canada or America... I'm sorry, I forget which one. But I wanted to warn you, and perhaps someone else can clarify this.

Smirnoff Ice is NOT gluten free in the United States, it is a malted beverage...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for clarifying that! But it is gluten-free in Canada, then. I knew it was one or the other.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
However, the Smirnoff

Twisted V products do contain Gluten. I hope this information has helped and

if you have any other questions or concerns please contact us

What got cut off there? Or what is Twisted V? Is it vanilla ? Because I think I've been drinking that.

Thanks,

Kevin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i dont drink so i dont have a favorite, BUT i just thought id tell you guys.. i bartend and id be careful drinking mixed drinks because the "gun" that all the sodas come out of defintely get EVERY SINGLE kind of liquor on the tip and it stays in it.

i used to always drink the sprite out of the gun and now whenever i drink out of the gun (even the water)

i feel glutened :(

so i tell people who are gluten-free to drink something we have that comes out of cans.. like grapefruit, pineapple,redbull.. or something along those lines.

margaritas are good too because its just tequila, cointreau and lime juice.

but maybe im just super sensitive.

let me know if anyone else has experienced this.

(or if anyone wants good drink recipes :P )

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
.. i bartend and id be careful drinking mixed drinks because the "gun" that all the sodas come out of defintely get EVERY SINGLE kind of liquor on the tip and it stays in it.

i used to always drink the sprite out of the gun and now whenever i drink out of the gun (even the water)

i feel glutened :(

so i tell people who are gluten-free to drink something we have that comes out of cans.. like grapefruit, pineapple,redbull.. or something along those lines.

margaritas are good too because its just tequila, cointreau and lime juice.

but maybe im just super sensitive.

let me know if anyone else has experienced this.

(or if anyone wants good drink recipes :P )

thank you for this advice!!! i am definitely sensitive enough that this matters.

what happens when you're at a restaurant where the drinks all come from a full-service bar - is there a way to get water not from the gun? :blink: (so many things to think about!!!)

thanks again,

paula

:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are a few more vodkas out there that are made from potatoes:

Zygo- Only a few years old...it is a Peach flavored vodka with some of the ingredients that can be found in Red Bull and other energy drinks. This vodka was developed after the Red Bull and Vodka craze hit. Tastes pretty good too! www.zygotopia.com

44 North- Relatively new Huckleberry infused potato vodka...has a different taste and is very mixable.

www.rockymountainvodka.com

Teton Glacier- Usually found in a squat rounded bottle that is a good value. www.glaciervodka.com

Harnas Vodka- I did some searching and found this potato vodka as well. Not sure if you can find it in any U.S. stores though.

Monopolowa Vodka- Product of Eastern Europe...looks like it got a good review, but never had it yet.

Victory Vodka- Made from 3 varieties of potatoes (Stobrawa, Mila, Glada) if that means anything to you!

http://www.internetwines.com/spirits-vodka...ate-potato.html or http://www.beerliquors.com

You can buy some of these vodkas there...

Also, if you can find it, 3 Vodka is made out of Soy--never had it but it sounds interesting!

www.3vodka.com

There are other vodkas that you will find by searching the net, but they are harder to find locally.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...