This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Lost A Good Friend Today

blueeyedmanda

blueeyedmanda Community Regular

Like some of you know already, I work in a hospital with Cancer Patients. I started here 2 years ago. My very first patient I had I was very close with. He and his wife became almost adopted grandparents. They were both the sweetest and most wonderful people you would have ever wanted to meet. Their hearts were huge. He had lung cancer, which he had battled for about 3 years prior to our meeting. He went onto a clinical trial we had and while on it was when I got to know both of them. Lung Cancer is hard to overcome and most of my patients have it. Our office is divided into different disease sites and I do most lung trials. When our new nurse started in Jan, she met with them and then she would call them once a month to check in. One day she came over and told me she could tell he preferred to talk to me, since he was comfortable with me and he knew me real well. She told me they loved me and just me caring about them was something they remembered about me. I would pop down in clinic to see them at his appointments (his wife always came with him) Even if they hadn't seen me in a few months they would wave me down. It was nice to have that relationship. My nurse told me that relationship is a wonderful thing to have.

In May, his cancer got worse and he came off the study. He and his wife celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary in June. No one thought he would make it to see that..but he did.