Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

mama2two

Bush's Black Beans

Recommended Posts

are bush's black beans gluten free? I see they list natural flavor as an ingredient and I am wondering if it is flour. they do not list a 1-800 number to call. I am trying to cook this for lunch, so I would like to know asap. I do have dried beans, but they have not been soaked, so they will take hours to cook. Please help? thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


According to the food labeling laws, (in the US) natural flavoring is gluten-free. If there is wheat in something that is not obvious like wheat flour, it must be labeled. I have eaten things with natural flavoring and been fine. So according to the law, you should be safe.


Be yourself, everyone else is taken.

Oscar Wilde

Gluten free November 2007

IgA Deficient, Neg Bloodwork, Double DQ2 Positive

Dietary and Genetic Diagnosis June 2, 2008

Soy free Jan 09

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

According to the food labeling laws, (in the US) natural flavoring is gluten-free. If there is wheat in something that is not obvious like wheat flour, it must be labeled. I have eaten things with natural flavoring and been fine. So according to the law, you should be safe.

thanks so much, and thanks for the quick response!! You learn something new everyday!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

According to the food labeling laws, (in the US) natural flavoring is gluten-free. If there is wheat in something that is not obvious like wheat flour, it must be labeled. I have eaten things with natural flavoring and been fine. So according to the law, you should be safe.

That covers wheat, but what about barley?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

THAT DOES NOT COVER BARLEY, RYE OR OATS! Wheat is a top 8 allergen so it must be disclosed, but the others do not have to be. Some companies take it upon themselves to disclose all gluten sources, but it is not a requirement and many companies do not. Natural flavors is one of the most dangerous ingredients, in my opinion.


Jenny

Son 6 yrs old, Positive blood work, Outstanding dietary response, no biopsy.

Household mostly gluten free since 3/07

Me: HLA-DQ 02 & 0302 (DQ 08), which I ran & analyzed myself!Currently gluten lite, negative tTG, asymptomatic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

THAT DOES NOT COVER BARLEY, RYE OR OATS! Wheat is a top 8 allergen so it must be disclosed, but the others do not have to be. Some companies take it upon themselves to disclose all gluten sources, but it is not a requirement and many companies do not. Natural flavors is one of the most dangerous ingredients, in my opinion.

My opinion also. I won't touch natural flavors without calling about them first.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

This is from their website:

Are any of your products gluten-free? Which ones?

All of our Bush's Best products are gluten-free with the exception of Bush's Best Chili Beans, the four varieties of Bush's Homestyle Chili and Bush's Chili Magic


Rebecca

Partial Gluten Free March 2007

Completely Gluten Free February 2008

Tapioca Starch/Flour Free April 2008

No MSG July 2008

Cut out Nitrates//Nitrites January 2009

Problems with Tomatoes and Potatoes -- Cut out Nightshades Aug '09

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

are bush's black beans gluten free? I see they list natural flavor as an ingredient and I am wondering if it is flour. they do not list a 1-800 number to call. I am trying to cook this for lunch, so I would like to know asap. I do have dried beans, but they have not been soaked, so they will take hours to cook. Please help? thanks!

Hi,

What dry beans do you trust. I know whole foods packages their beans in a facility that has gluten in it so I don't know who to trust.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I agree about barley being a possibility in Natural Flavors. I ran across this with Mrs. Butterworth's Syrup when I was first diagnosed.


Kim

"Life isn't about how to survive the storm

but how to dance in the rain."

Positive bloodwork 1/9/06

gluten-free since 1/12/06

Very positive dietary response

DS (12 years old)

Biopsy 7/7/06 ~ Diagnosed Celiac 7/12/2006

gluten-free since 7/15/2006

DD (almost 6)

HLA-DQ2 positive

Celiac Bloodwork negative 2 different times

Still eating gluten for now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I DON'T trust Bush's Best. I got that rubber stamp email from a Ms. Kenna Hess in June 2008 saying all their flavors were gluten free except the chili lines. Go read the labels of their honey flavor along with their Boston Baked Beans flavor. You will find MODIFIED FOOD STARCH in the ingredients. That means gluten to me. It doesn't say "modified corn starch" on the labels.

Research modified food starch throughout this very web site. You'll see very strong relationships with flour or wheat.

If Bush's uses corn starch, then why don't they say so on the labels???

Sometimes even contacting a manufacturer is not good enough.


6

Celiac Dx: June 16, 2008

EDG Confirmation: Acheived C3 "severe" on July 8, 2008

Gluten-Free Since: June 21, 2008

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I DON'T trust Bush's Best. I got that rubber stamp email from a Ms. Kenna Hess in June 2008 saying all their flavors were gluten free except the chili lines. Go read the labels of their honey flavor along with their Boston Baked Beans flavor. You will find MODIFIED FOOD STARCH in the ingredients. That means gluten to me. It doesn't say "modified corn starch" on the labels.

Research modified food starch throughout this very web site. You'll see very strong relationships with flour or wheat.

If Bush's uses corn starch, then why don't they say so on the labels???

Sometimes even contacting a manufacturer is not good enough.

The modified food starch they use is corn. They are not required to say so because it is corn and corn is not considered an allergin. If it was from wheat they would have to declare it as such because wheat is a recognized allergin. I have never heard of a modified starch made from barley or rye.

You can trust them as far as gluten is concerned.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter