Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Vanilla


  • Please log in to reply

3 replies to this topic

#1 Cindy71

 
Cindy71

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
 

Posted 24 August 2004 - 06:22 AM

:D Are people with celiac disease allowed to eat anything flavored w/vanilla? I was recently diagnosed w/celiac disease, and on one of the papers the dr gave me, vanilla is listed under the "aviod" colomn. Please let me know.
**also - I've been looking for a simple gluten-free brands food list. I've checked out some of the ones mentioned on previous posts. Isn't there one certain place that has one thats pretty up to date (and gets updated each year)? Or is that alot to ask for?
Thank you!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 24 August 2004 - 06:49 AM

I've been gluten-free almost three years and have discovered during that time that vanilla just is not something to be worried about.

Updating a list once a year isn't enough. Probably the most up-to-date list is the one from Clan Thompson but you have to pay for it. The best way to do it is to simply call the companies yourself. If you have a cell phone, call from the store if you're not sure about a product (most have an 800 number on them)

It does get easier. I don't even carry a list with me any more when I go shopping.

richard
  • 0

#3 lyndszai

 
lyndszai

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 58 posts
 

Posted 24 August 2004 - 06:50 AM

Im not sure about the vanilla thing but it says in my pocket dictionary vanilla extract is allowed, but here is a good website with gluten-free list from companys


www.penny.ca

than go down to the bottem and click on manufactures phone numbers and than there will be a link on the next page that says GLUTEN FREE PRODUCT INFORMATION LISTS NOW AVAILABLE! CLICK HERE! .
  • 0

#4 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 24 August 2004 - 07:48 AM

old lists say to avoid vanilla, because they're usually referring to vanilla extract, which is often in an alcohol base. it used to be thought that alcohol had gluten (if the alcohol was produced by a grain we can't have), but more thorough research has noted that the gluten proteins are far too heavy to make it through the distillation process. so vanilla is ok. it's always best to check with the company (I can't reiterate that enough) because it's not impossible for a company to decide to use wheat or some other product derived from a forbidden grain as a carrier for some flavors. That's very unlikely, of course, and I don't know of it happening (outside of seasoning packages) yet.
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: