Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter
0
  • entries
    139
  • comments
    227
  • views
    9,428

General Mills Recalls 1.8 million Boxes of Gluten-free Honey Nut Cheerios

0
Scott Adams

944 views

General Mills is voluntarily recalling several days of production of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal produced at its Lodi, California facility on certain dates in July of this year because of an undeclared allergen – wheat – with potential adverse health effects. Because this recall relates to an undeclared allergen, this is a Class I product recall.



Celiac.com Sponsor (A13):






Celiac.com Sponsor (A13-m):




Photo: CC--the impulsive buyCheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on these dates at the company’s Lodi, California facility are being recalled because an isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system at its Lodi facility. As a result, the products may contain an undeclared allergen – wheat – in products labeled as gluten-free.

General Mills will recall and retrieve affected cereals produced on those dates from customer warehouses and store shelves. Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance should not consume products bearing the affected code dates and should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund. 

This voluntary recall includes four days production of original (yellow box) Cheerios, and thirteen days of production ofHoney Nut Cheerios at its Lodi, California facility with the following “BETTER IF USED BY” code dates and the plant code LD which indicates the product was produced at Lodi, California:

Honey Nut Cheerios Honey Nut Cheerios Honey Nut Cheerios  Yellow Box Cheerios
12JUL2016LD
13JUL2016LD
14JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD
17JUL2016LD
18JUL2016LD
20JUL2016LD
21JUL2016LD
22JUL2016LD
23JUL2016LD
24JUL2016LD
25JUL2016LD 
14JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD
17JUL2016LD

Products containing wheat can cause illness or severe reactions for individuals with wheat allergies or celiac disease.  Products containing wheat can also cause illness or discomfort for individuals with gluten intolerance.

General Mills is transitioning five varieties of Cheerios to gluten free. Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereals produced at General Mills’ other facilities, or on dates other than those noted at the Lodi, California facility, are not impacted. General Mills’ other gluten-free Cheerios varieties – including Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios and MultiGrain Cheerios – are not impacted and are not being recalled. No other General Mills cereals are affected. 

Consumers requesting refunds or calling with further questions should contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370. 

Source:

0


1 Comment


Recommended Comments

Guest Wendy Cunningham

Posted

I am extremely intolerant of gluten and was affected by this recall. I was suffering severe abdominal pain not knowing that the "gluten free" Cheerios I had bought were the culprit. I was 3/4 of the way through the box before the recall was announced. I returned my box for a refund but am still suffering the consequences of eating them. General Mills has lost my trust: I do not plan to ever buy their gluten free products again.

Share this comment


Link to comment
Guest
Add a comment...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Popular Contributors


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):





  • Celiac.com Sponsors (A19):


  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      91,960
    • Most Online
      6,255

    Newest Member
    talhach
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Blog Statistics

    • Total Blogs
      1,179
    • Total Entries
      2,122

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):


  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):



  • Celiac.com Sponsors (A23):