Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Fiddle-Faddle

For The Newly Diagnosed

Recommended Posts

There have been several posts lately from some of the newly diagnosed among us who have been advised by their nutritionists that Corn Flakes are gluten-free. THEY'RE NOT.

I hate to burst bubbles here, but it seems that the nutritionists are NOT up to speed on what is and isn't gluten-free!

Please make sure to read ALL labels, and remember, it's not enough to just look for wheat ingredients. We also need to avoid ALL gluten, which is also in rye, spelt, barley and oats (unless you buy special gluten-free oats). For a full discussion of oats, see the article at celiac.com.

Anything that lists malt in the ingredients is therefore NOT gluten-free, even if it doesn't specify barley malt (it is almost certainly made from barley).

Sorry! :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):