Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Gluten In Root Beer?
3 3

36 posts in this topic

I have read that root beer often has gluten. Seriously? I have read the ingredient list on a couple of different brands, and I'm just not seeing it. Does anyone know what ingredient I should be looking for? Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I can imagine anything can have gluten in it since I have seen lemonade with gluten in it. I know a&w root beer and virgil's root beer are gluten free. Virgils is my favorite and blows regular root beer away but its very pricey.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are lots of gluten free root beers:

Barq's

caffeine free Barq's

diet Barq's

Blue Sky Root beer

A&W

Mug

Stewart's

Hires

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
There are lots of gluten free root beers:

Barq's

caffeine free Barq's

diet Barq's

Blue Sky Root beer

A&W

Mug

Stewart's

Hires

Thanks! I have somehow lived most of my life without the joy of root beer, and just when I discovered that I love it, I thought I couldn't have it!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I can imagine anything can have gluten in it since I have seen lemonade with gluten in it. I know a&w root beer and virgil's root beer are gluten free. Virgils is my favorite and blows regular root beer away but its very pricey.

OMG I love Virgil's root beer! It is pricey, so I only get it once in a while, but it is the best tasting root beer ever!!

Also, 365 whole foods brand makes a good gluten free root beer too, but not as good as Virgil's!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




OMG I love Virgil's root beer! It is pricey, so I only get it once in a while, but it is the best tasting root beer ever!!

Also, 365 whole foods brand makes a good gluten free root beer too, but not as good as Virgil's!

It's my treat for certain times but its addicting. If I have one I want the whole 4 pack :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yikes! Which root beers and lemonades do have gluten?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

IBC Rootbeer is also gluten-free. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
There are lots of gluten free root beers:

Barq's

caffeine free Barq's

diet Barq's

Blue Sky Root beer

A&W

Mug

Stewart's

Hires

Are you sure about A & W? I have had a strong reaction to it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Are you sure about A & W? I have had a strong reaction to it.

I'm doubtful too hubby has reaction too along with Mt. Dew: I have erecieved a quote from Pepsi and will post later but in Mt. Dew there vegetable oil and orange juice lol who ever would think of that ;)

we stick with Sprite only now but will look for the Virgil's RB thanks!

A Message from Consumer Relations 011391359A

Dear Belinda,

Thank you for contacting us here at the Pepsi-Cola Company regarding

our product ingredients.

Here at Pepsi, we only use ingredients that are fully approved and

deemed safe for use in foods by the Food and Drug Administration.

There is no gluten in any soft drink produced by Pepsi-Cola Company in

North America. Although high fructose corn syrup is derived from corn,

the technology used in making this sweetener completely removes the

protein fractions, leaving no residuals in the finished sweetener.

If we can be of further assistance to you, please don

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is A&W owned by Pepsi?

Wikipedia claims Cadbury Schweppes Americas Beverages.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I reacted to IBC...boyfriend unwittingly gave it to me...he'd never noticed that when I actually order soda (I'm not big on it), that I ask the brand...

Also-- I watched a TV show on the Food Network and it showed how they make good old fashioned root beer and it had barley or something major like that in there! I was so ticked!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I have read that root beer often has gluten. Seriously? I have read the ingredient list on a couple of different brands, and I'm just not seeing it. Does anyone know what ingredient I should be looking for? Thanks!

Definitely be careful! Caramel is the ingredient. I know Coke products can be considered gluten-free by the company if they have 0.2% gluten or less. However, this means if you consume more than one, you're at a risk. I made that mistake.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Definitely be careful! Caramel is the ingredient. I know Coke products can be considered gluten-free by the company if they have 0.2% gluten or less. However, this means if you consume more than one, you're at a risk. I made that mistake.

I am having a reaction as I type this. I had probably about 1/2 cup of Barqs. I didn't even think to look, but I am very reactive and also have DH. Itching all over and have horrible headache and brain fog. I think it's the Carmel color. I seem to react to it in other things and I don't see anything else on there that I would react to...seem to be pretty darn sensitve though. Just started itching and have had gas for the last 6 hours, my lips start to get really chapped feeling too. Need to take benedryl too as I have an "allergic" hayfever type reaction. Drank it at about 6pm and it is almost 4am. I will be up all night! :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.
[Emphasis in original]
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Im reacting to Mug root beer right now.

Kill me :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I reacted this weekend to Barq's root beer. UGH!!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to Clan Thompson's Celiac Food SmartList, the following root beer brands are gluten free:

A&W, regular and diet (10/06/2009)

Barq's, caffeine free, regular, and diet (3/23/2009)

Mug Root Beer, regular and diet (12/3/2009)

There are a lot more listed, but these were the brands I saw mentioned on this thread.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm very new to a gluten-free diet and I've discovered I had a reaction to Mugs diet root beer. Very upseting since I love it so much. I didn't realize it at first, but I had major fogginess and then an intense headache. Can anyone explain the ingredient that I should look out for in other sodas? I've read the Mugs diet RB ingredients and I can't figure it out. Thanks!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am not aware of any brand of root beer that contains gluten. There are other things in sodas that can cause a reaction in some people.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have been getting glutenized and it might be the A&W I've been sipping from my husbands can. Which would also explain why he has that rash again... (he is also gluten-free).

I didn't think of the coloring. I thought it might be the vanilla. The more I think about the corn factor though the more I realize it is just not worth trying to drink. Yuck. Maybe now I can finally ditch this headache I've been brewing before it gets to full blown migraine levels.

Thanks, this thread was very helpful!

I am not aware of any brand of root beer that contains gluten. There are other things in sodas that can cause a reaction in some people.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mug says clearly at its website that it's gluten-free, and several of you have confirmed that. But what about DIET Mug root beer? I'm not finding anything specific. I had what I call a "celiac attack" 2 nights ago and trying to figure out the source. Diet Mug root beer could be the culprit. Thanks for any info.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mug says clearly at its website that it's gluten-free, and several of you have confirmed that. But what about DIET Mug root beer? I'm not finding anything specific. I had what I call a "celiac attack" 2 nights ago and trying to figure out the source. Diet Mug root beer could be the culprit. Thanks for any info.

Not likely to have gluten. Barley malt as a sweetener would add calories, forgone thing. And it pull be listed in the ingredients. I have Celiac type symptoms from some of the artificial sweeteners.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

mug root beer is my go to laxaxtive .. just sayin :-D no brain fog though like i normally get with gluten

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was glutened by root bear once. I beleive it was Barks Rootbeer and one of the ingredients in it was modified food starch.

If there is anything like food starch, or starch without stating what the source of the starch is, just assume it is wheat.

I only drank about an inch from the bottle and I was sick for three days.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
3 3

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,116
    • Total Posts
      919,451
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I figured I would update those who were wondering.  I have gotten the appt. so far moved up to August 30. I am waiting to have gene testing done via swab for all 3 of my kiddos tomorrow. My daughters celiac antibodies came up negative but her IgA is low which the ped said could cause false negative antibodies for celiac so she will need to see a GI dr. also. The pediatrician is going to call the GI to try to get them in sooner. I am keeping them all on a gluten diet until the GI dr. decides what to do. I am on the cancellation list already for my son, however I am not going to be persistent with my phone calls to them until I have the results of the gene test. I really want that result in my hand before going to the GI dr if I can. Maybe if he is positive, along with his bloodwork and my history they can forgo the endoscopy. But he will eat gluten till then.  My husband and I have been very honest and upfront with him as to what is going on and the possibility of the endoscopy and what that entails and although scared in general he seems ok after assuring him that since I have it he has me to help him every step of the way.  Going through his current diet with him I realized that he is truly on such a low gluten diet that I am actually surprised his bloodwork shows antibodies at all!  So I told him to make a list of allllll the gluten he could possibly think of eating and he needs to pound it until the GI visit or endoscopy. Funny thing is everything he keeps thinking of to want to eat...is already gluten free!  The other night we were at a friends and he asked if he could be done with his hotdog. I made him finish just the bread 😂 Thanks for your help and advise and I will keep y'all posted on both kids!  My oldest is a ok as far as all his antibodies. Just actually had a follow up for other immune issues and all his levels are now normal!
    • I like your plan Cara, I may have to include it in my sons.    Poor little guy is still very very sick. I think he is resisting and cheating, despite having the support of two other siblings and a 100% gluten-free home. 
    • Despite it being a nightmare, I did wait for my kids to get biopsies. At one point I had one severely ill child gluten-free and two more waiting having to eat it. It was worth the wait though and I think long term a biopsy may be worthwhile, especially for school. I have already had issues with schools and camps so having a firm diagnosis has been helpful. 
    • Knowing that the reaction to gluten in celiacs is an uncalled for immune system reaction, I was thinking of how a cure would be possible. Maybe a medicine that somehow turns off the immune system. The only thing that i've heard do that... HIV.  obviously that's way worse than celiac. Just some food for thought.
    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,155
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    AndiR
    Joined