Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

What Is Whey
0

3 posts in this topic

can anyone tell me if this (whey) is something I should not be consuming and what really is it?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Whey is a milk protein. It is gluten free, but if you are sensitive to dairy, then you shouldn't have it. Many newly diagnosed celiacs just starting on the gluten free diet might need to avoid dairy for a while during the initial healing process, then can try adding it slowly back in. I am casein intolerant as well as gluten intolerant. Casein is a protein in milk that has a similar molecular structure to gluten, and so I have to avoid dairy forever. Many celiacs are also casein intolerant, but you would need to either have a test for it, or try an elimination diet to see if dairy bothers you.

God bless.

Mariann

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Little Miss Muffet sat on her tuffet, eating her curds and whey..." I wonder if she wheezed after her meal? That's exactly what I do when eating this milk-related protein, as well as when I ingest casein, butter, cheese, or any other product that is milk or dairy. I learned to avoid wheat and all other grains, then moved on to milk and dairy, then egg whites and yeast. Since I've been discovering these allergies for the past 30 years, I never even knew what casein or whey were either, so, of course, learned the hard way. Now I am reading about the two on a lot of posts, and that is great. Welda

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0