22314 New Communion Wafer a Blessing for Catholics with Gluten-sensitivity - Celiac.com
No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:


No categories found.

Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter

Ads by Google:

Follow / Share

Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts


Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

New Communion Wafer a Blessing for Catholics with Gluten-sensitivity

A gluten-free communion wafer

Celiac.com 10/13/2010 - Until now Catholics with gluten-sensitivity have found it difficult to participate fully in Mass by consuming the communion wafers, which traditionally contain gluten.

To address that situation, the Benedictine Sisters of Perpetual Adoration in Clyde, Mo., have developed a Communion host that is extremely low in gluten – allowing Catholics with gluten sensitivity an alternative to taking only the cup during communion.

Low-gluten communion wafers mean that more Catholics with gluten-sensitivity will be able to consume both the body and the blood of the host, both the communion wafer and the wine, in their celebration of Mass.

Canon law and tradition require that communion wafers contain a percentage of wheat for a valid celebration of Eucharist, said Timothy Johnston, Director of Liturgy of the Catholic Diocese of Salt Lake City.

However, the host made by the Benedictine Sisters of Perpetual Adoration contains gelatinized wheat starch. The sisters report the hosts test to a level of 0.01 percent gluten. The Secretariat for the Liturgy of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops has stated that these hosts meet the requirements of the Code of Canon Law (924 §2) and may be used at the celebration of the Eucharist with permission of the person’s pastor.

“They are the only group of sisters (or Catholic group at that) that make valid low-gluten hosts. Any other company or group is not approved for use during the liturgy,” Johnston said.

Ads by Google:

He encourages Catholics with gluten-sensitivity who wish to learn more to begin a discussion with their pastor so that each may understand the church doctrine and teaching regarding low-gluten hosts, as well as the practical steps necessary for Holy Communion.

Johnston also advises Catholics who wish to receive the low-gluten wafer to discuss the matter in advance with the celebrant and Extraordinary Ministers of Holy Communion so that everyone is comfortable with the procedure.

“There are several parishes that use low-gluten hosts,” Johnston said, including St. Andrew, the Cathedral of the Madeleine and Saint Thomas More.

Responding in a letter to expressions of gratitude from many Catholics with gluten-sensitivity, the Sisters of Perpetual Adoration write that they are “inspired by the deep desire of those suffering from gluten intolerance to receive Holy Communion…[and] humbled by the many letters, emails, and phone calls we have received thanking us for our efforts to produce low gluten altar bread.”

The letter adds that the Sisters “blessed to have the opportunity to allow God to work through our hands…[and] honored and privileged to provide for you and your parish the bread that becomes the Body of Christ.”

Obviously, since the new wafers are not completely gluten-free,  questions of individual sensitivity will need to be addressed. However, this is a huge step toward allowing people with gluten sensitivity to take both the body and the blood when taking communion.


Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).

Spread The Word

Related Articles

22 Responses:

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
18 Oct 2010 9:19:02 AM PDT
Unfortunately, these still contain gluten. And unfortunately, this still isn't safe for celiacs. I think the Catholic Church needs to be very, very clear that this is a Roman Catholic policy / tradition that does not apply to other denominations. Other denominations do not require that a specific grain be used in the communion wafers!

Dorothy Ayer
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
20 Feb 2012 4:27:37 PM PDT
You are correct.

Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
09 Mar 2014 9:42:56 AM PDT
Why should the Catholic church have to make something clear to other denominations?

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
01 May 2016 9:23:41 AM PDT
-Worshipers with gluten-free/coeliac condition

Gluten-free wafer is given to communicants in my Church.
I worship in Anglican Church in Essex.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
18 Oct 2010 12:25:59 PM PDT
My 13 year old son receives these each Sunday. His GI approved them, providing he doesn't have any reaction to them, which he doesn't. We're both very thankful that the sisters make them and that our Church offers them.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
18 Oct 2010 12:39:42 PM PDT
My children and I have been receiving these low-gluten hosts for a year and have figured out that these are now causing the same reaction as a gluten accident. At first, I thought they were mainly rice flour with a smidgen of wheat. I would not buy anything off of the shelf containing wheat starch so why will I subject my family to these hosts. We are strong in our faith. We will abstain from the Holy Eucharist and partake of the Precious Blood if available. God understands.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
18 Oct 2010 1:00:45 PM PDT
My mom & I have be using these hosts since 2004 and have had no ill effects. Like the article says, they are VERY LOW gluten, meeting the proposed acceptable level. The Catholic Church never claimed that this policy applies to other denominations. I think it is great that these hosts are available to gluten free Catholics desiring to receive the BODY of CHRIST.

Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
18 Oct 2010 3:50:03 PM PDT
I cannot believe that a celiac journal would print this - the only treatment for celiac disease is a totally gluten free diet.

It's a bit of catch 22 for Roman Catholics - Your not permitted to knowingly do something which is bad for you (ie. have wheat products) but if you don't have communion you can't get to heaven.

PS. Roman Catholics can still have wine.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
19 Oct 2010 8:40:53 PM PDT
In response to GTT517: No, you can still get into heaven even if you can't take communion. My father was too ill to take solid foods and there are many people who can't take communion because of the wheat, but we don't believe you will be condemned to the netherworld if you can't take communion.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
19 Oct 2010 8:43:21 PM PDT
Actually, if you are unable to take communion because of an illness, you are not excluded from going to heaven.

Ferd Burfle
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
12 Jan 2011 9:26:35 AM PDT
"PS. Roman Catholics can still have wine."

...unless they are alcoholics with celiac disease. THEN the church suggests you become a Jew.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
08 Jan 2012 2:41:58 PM PDT
Your ignorance is stunning. Please don't comment on things you have no knowledge about.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
18 Jun 2012 12:39:06 PM PDT
They always brush the crumbs of wheat from their hands into the wine..

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
19 Sep 2012 1:16:52 PM PDT
The Church teaches that the FULL manifestation is in BOTH the Host and in the wine. So, you can get the full mass from just the wine.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
18 Oct 2010 8:29:43 PM PDT
I live near the Benedictine Sisters and my parish has been using their low-gluten wafers for a few years now. The ability to participate in Communion is a wonderful blessing for a Gluten Intolerant newly converted Catholic. The Catholic Church made it very clear the reason behind the "policy/tradition" when I converted this past year with no apprehension. Our parish has set the standard for our diocese on how to safely provide this alternative for gluten intolerant Catholics thanks to the Benedictine Sisters.

G Harrison
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
19 Oct 2010 10:31:20 AM PDT
The headline is misleading. The wafers still contain gluten and unless you experience one of those catholic miracles, you will be exposed to gluten.

The only answer is for the Catholic church to recognize that until there is a cure, gluten is poison for those afflicted.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated ( Author)
said this on
28 Oct 2010 11:35:18 AM PDT
As seen from numerous comments, many people with gluten-intolerance will be able to consume these communion wafers with no issue. Others will not. People with celiac disease likely cannot tolerate these. However, I feel that the development of the wafers helps to raise celiac/gluten awareness in general, and that is not a bad thing. Nor is having an alternative for some people.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
31 May 2011 7:55:52 PM PDT
As a Catholic I would like to clear up a few misconceptions in the comments section here.

I think the most important thing to know is that one does NOT have to receive communion to go to heaven! I think the best way to explain the idea that you "must" receive communion (which is based on John 6) is that the Eucharist helps *draw us* toward heaven—but it is no absolute requirement. God is merciful.

Catholics believe that in the Eucharist, we receive the complete and undivided Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity of Jesus Christ, in a real and literal way. A worshiper who receives EITHER the host OR the chalice, receives that complete Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity. (And, technically, after consecration, it shouldn't be called "bread" or "wine" anymore.)

The extremely low-gluten hosts are probably the best that can possibly done for people with gluten sensitivity. Of course, if a low-gluten host is unacceptable, a celiac sufferer can still receive communion from the chalice. One can even arrange to have a separate chalice of wine consecrated just for celiac worshipers, to prevent any gluten cross contamination.

If a person can't tolerate ordinary wine either, it can be arranged that a very low-alcohol, only slightly fermented wine called mustum can be used. If even that can't be tolerated, then the worshiper will have to go without the sacrament, knowing that he or she can still make a spiritual communion. God is merciful.

The incredible teaching of the Real Presence shows why the Church considers it gravely important to "get it right." Wheat for the host and fermented grape wine for the chalice are essential. For this reason Catholic requirements are more strict than those of most Protestant denominations.

Nobody knows what celiac disease means for you better than God. He knows what He is doing by making this cross a part of your journey here on earth. He understands even if nobody in your parish seems to "get it." It can even be just between you and Him. Imagine Him looking right at you, shrugging, and saying "I know, they're clueless. Tell me about it."

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
22 Aug 2012 5:34:40 AM PDT
Thank you Robyn for your comment. I have been very saddened in my heart when I found out there was wheat in the Eucharist . Your comments confirmed what some of my sisters in Christ have shared with me seeing as I also have epilepsy and cannot take the wine regularly because of my medicine. I just need to pray.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
04 Nov 2012 6:27:51 PM PDT
Robyn, this is well-put, but I would like to emphasize that one receives Jesus, Body and Blood in even a tiny amount of the "host" or the "wine". This means that for someone very sensitive (and I realize this may not include those with celiac disease) to gluten or alcohol, can receive just a tiny piece of a "host", or a drop of "wine".

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
12 Dec 2011 2:46:45 PM PDT
Thank you, Robyn! God Bless you! As a fellow Catholic and a celiac sufferer, I find the Church's stance on "no gluten free communion" to be difficult, especially with cross-contamination issues regarding the wine BUT your comments certainly put me at ease.

Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
11 Mar 2012 8:50:18 PM PDT
What a joke. If the church cared about its members, they wouldn't subject them to something that will cause them illness. Of course, they wouldn't expose children to known predators either.

Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:

In Celiac.com's Forum Now:

All Activity
Celiac.com Celiac Disease & Gluten-Free Diet Forum - All Activity

So as many of you might know at only 6 weeks Gluten Free we were shocked to see how many Neurological Issues were resolved for our daughter. It was shocking and amazing. We quickly began to realize that the difficulty swallowing, the Vertigo, the sensory issues were ALL Gluten related. Now in the last 2 weeks it all slipped away and she is almost entirely back to the way she was before we went Gluten Free. We have a pretty good idea why and are taking the steps to remedy it. BUT...it struck me that (for HER sake and the sake of her long term medical records) I need to get the Gluten Ataxia recognized. I realize now how fragile her health is and how hard she will have to fight to STAY healthy. And worse - potentially EVERY cross contamination will take her out for weeks and make her employment opportunities shaky and vulnerable. My Dr. agrees and is sending us to the McMaster Neurological Department (they are cutting edge, up on all that is new etc) to see if they are willing to work with us. She just put the referral in so I have no idea what will come from it. It my result in nothing? Or she may get a Gluten Ataxia diagnosis? I'm not sure but it is worth fighting for.

In my research, diabetes (type 2) is genetic. You either have the genes to develop diabetes or you do not. Additional weight is most likely due to insulin resistance. I happen to be a thin diabetic. I have never been heavy. I was brought up to consume the Standard American diet (SAD) full of process and sugary foods. The problem most celiacs have is that they just simply convert the SAD diet into a gluten free diet. I disagree. We need to consume foods that naturally contain nutrients that are good for us. Fortified foods were only developed during the last century. In the 20's they added iodine to salt to prevent thyroid disease (goiters). In the 30's they added Vitamin D to prevent rickets (fortified milk was better than that nasty cod liver oil). In the 40's they started fortifying flour. Why? They found that kids entering into the military during WWII were malnourished. Yes. They were malnourished. Remember, the Great Depression preceded the war. Read more: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK208880/ I consume very few grains because I do have diabetes. I eat fresh veggies (full of fiber), meats, fruit, eggs, and dairy along with plenty of fat (which does not raise blood sugar). I do occasionally fall of the wagon, but never the gluten-free wagon! Granted this diet is not for everyone. We must choose what works best for our individual health issues. But chances are we do not need to consume processed junk food in a daily basis. It is not healthy for a celiac. It is not healthy for anyone! So, everything in moderation and enjoy a varied diet.

I felt great a few weeks after going gluten-free. finally started loosing weight as well. the last few weeks I have not felt good. ok in the morning, then slowly start getting brain fog. shakes. pains. is low blood sugar a side affect of going gluten free????

I had a bone scan it didn't show any fractures, basically I left physical therapy in pain, it then went away. But my knee pain and tingling didn't go away so I tried PT again and I left it pain. Then I realized I had celiac and now all my pain is gone other then the back pain.. I'm basically worried I healed from the celiac and PT caused a whole new problem that never had to happen.

I am trying to find out if going gluten-free can cause low blood sugar. I felt so much better when going gluten-free, but now I feel weak, shaky, tired