Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Lisa

Balsamic Dressing

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

This is a quick question. Do you all feel comfortable ordering restaurant Balsamic Dressing on your salads?

I think this is glutening me. Sometimes I bring you own dressing, but today I ordered the restaurants dressing.

Last nights dinner was ribs with Emeril's Original and Lindberg wild rice blend (both gluten-free according to Delfi)

"D" issues today after salad at lunch.

Whacha think?

Lisa B

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
This is a quick question.  Do you all feel comfortable ordering restaurant Balsamic Dressing on your salads?

I think this is glutening me.  Sometimes I bring you own dressing, but today I ordered the restaurants dressing.

Last nights dinner was ribs with Emeril's Original and Lindberg wild rice blend (both gluten-free according to Delfi)

"D" issues today after salad at lunch.

Whacha think?

Lisa B

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I only feel comfortable having oil/vinegar at restaurants b/c I too have had problems w/ dressings. One place everytime i go i ask for oil and vinegar and instead i get balsamic vinagrette- there is def gluten in it b/c i get sick everytime! needless to say i stopped eating lunch there!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Depends on the restaurant... Sometimes, no. Balsamic *can* be made with caramel coloring (then it's not balsamico any more, but balsamic vinegar - slight differences), and caramel coloring *can* be made with gluten. It doesn't happen often, but it can happen. Additionally, additives may be added to vinaigrettes to get them to be a bit "creamy" or "thicker", and while I've never heard of anyone using wheat, there could be something that's contaminated that gets used. (I use garlic or mustard powder, myself.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was just taken out to a five star restaurant the other week. The chef was aware that I was Gluten-free Casein-free. So the salad on the menu stated balsamic dressing, but the chef only put oil and some cracked salt and pepper on the salad. He must have thought the balsamic was unsafe. I left everything in his hands and I did not get sick. I think he was more informed than I was.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Tiffany, major glutened today, can't spell, can't walk straight, don't want to do anything and feels like a zombie.......I don't know what else to say, be I think this a good thing that I am going to bed, Good night, and happy Thankgiving to all in the US and also wishes for those in Canada.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Balsamic vinegar itself is always gluten-free, but dressing that includes balsamic isn't necessarily. You need to ask.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh I don't think you should say that balsamic vinegar is always gluten free. I've read that some inexpensive ones are not aged very long so they don't get the nice dark color that they should have from aging so they add coloring to it to make it appear aged. And who knows if the coloring is gluten-free.

When I buy it at the store I buy one of the more expensive brands that has been aged for years and who's ingredients specifically only says: vinegar.

Susan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lisa,

I love balsamic dressing as well. I purchased a case of Annie's Balsamic Vinaigrette packs. I keep some in my purse when I dine out. The dressing is pretty good. Not exactly what you would get when it's prepared by a chef or what I make at home but I know it safe, when I dine out. :D

Sometimes I get a plain baked potato and put the salad dressing on it. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lisa-hope you feel better soon!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Oh I don't think you should say that balsamic vinegar is always gluten free.  I've read that some inexpensive ones are not aged very long so they don't get the nice dark color that they should have from aging so they add coloring to it to make it appear aged.  And who knows if the coloring is gluten-free. 

When I buy it at the store I buy one of the more expensive brands that has been aged for years and who's ingredients specifically only says:  vinegar.

Susan

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Lol... us purists would say, then, that the cheap stuff isn't actually balsamic vinegar at all. (the italians wouldn't let them call it that either. ;-) )

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest BERNESES

Hope you feel better soon, I've had problems with it too. I would NEVER say anything is always gluten-free, that's for sure. Having found gluten in an Amy's gluten free meal, nothing is always anything!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, I'll change what I said. In four years I've never found a balsamic vinegar that isn't gluten-free and I've never heard of anybody else who has found one. If anybody has found one, please post the brand name here so we'll know.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest BERNESES

Here's some info I found:

So Legal Sea Foods worked on making substitutes — chick pea croutons for salads; corn meal for frying and chick pea crumbs for baking instead of flour. Many items, they found, unexpectedly contained gluten and had to be excluded from the celiac-safe menu, including cocktail sauce, balsamic vinegar and blue cheese. Gluten is often added to foods as a stabilizing agent.

from: http://msnbc.msn.com/id/9144025/

I noticed that when I was at Legal Seafoods, their gluten-free menu said specifically no balsamic vinegar.

The other thing is that you could possibly be intolerant of distilled products. I go back and forth with this- sometimes I do OK with them and sometimes I don't.

Oh and I hope you feel better and are able to enjoy the holiday! Best, B

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you like I can go to my grocery store and get the brand names of balsamic vinegars that I don't trust Richard however they don't say gluten they say the have added color, some say carmel color. I'm not saying they contain gluten I'm just making the point that they are not just vinegar, they have other stuff added to make them dark due to the lack of aging (these most always are inexpensive brands).

I tend to think, not only for my gluten issues, but also just for general health, the fewer ingredients the better and in my book, vinegar should just be vinegar, not have added color and flavor.

Susan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

balsamic vinegar IS gluten free.

the problem with balsamic vinaiGRETTE dressing is that often other things that are not gluten-free are included. for example, quite often soy sauce is used in that dressing, and soy sauces often have wheat in them. stick to plain vinegar, and you should be fine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have two bottles of balsamic vinegar at home. Bertolli brand has no ingredients, but contains sulphites so I assume it is 100% balsamic vinegar. The Sammarelli brand lists the following ingredients: wine vinegar, concentrated grape must, colouring agent E 150 d, antioxidant E 224. I just wanted to add my two cents.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest BERNESES

I also just wanted to say that some people, regardless of whether or not the vinegar is gluten-free, have a similar reaction to it that they have to gluten (I am one of them) so that's a a possibility too. There's also the cross-contaminatiopn problem to which I find I am very sensitive. End result- if it doesn't make you feel good, try like heck to find out if it's gluten free but regardless, stop eating it for a bit and then try it again later.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

An Italian chef I know said to be a true Balsamic vinegar it must say "Modena" on the label. There are Balsamic vinegrette mixes out there, and of course you must avoid those. My favorite salad dressing is extra virgin olive oil and Balsamic vinegar, nothing else. Yum!

By the way, Cosco sells a HUGE bottle of Balsamic that is great...it lasts forever, and although the bottle is bigger than what you'd see in a supermarket, it's a good price (maybe $10 or so) and it lasts for ages.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I, like Richard, have never seen a balsamic vinegar that contained gluten (7 years).

It is normally derived from grapes.

The cheap stuff will have additives - the more expensive (normally the better) will not.

Soy sauce is used commonly in salad dressing (even in non-asian restaurants).

It is best to ask anyway (or bring your own)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for all your replies. I have no issue with Balsamic Vineg., just the dressing in restaurants. I have found out that many use soy sauce in their sauces/dressings. I will stop ordering this in the place that I go to lunch.

I now bring my own dressing. I can make a better dressing than I can get in a restaurant anyways. :)

Lisa B.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most of the time for dressing I use extra virgin olive oil and fresh squeezed lemon juice with ground pepper.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Top Posters +

  • Upcoming Events

    • April 17, 2019 Until April 27, 2019
      0  
      April 17-27, 2020   For the past few years many of you have asked us to arrange a River Boat Cruise that will allow us to visit Amsterdam's famous Keukenhof Gardens at its prime time of the blossoming of the millions of Tulips and Hyacinths - alongside the windmills of the Netherlands.  With the participation of a minimum of 20 persons we have arranged an All-Inclusive Cruise from Antwerp to Amsterdam.  This cruise will not be offered to the public until January, 2019 and always sells out quickly.   THERE WILL BE NO MONEY REQUIRED NOR COMMITMENT FROM YOU until we have all the final costs and details.  If you are at all interested check out our website for as many of the details that we have as of this time.   We need your request to be placed on a list of interested participants so we can present that number to Uniworld to show we have the sincere interest in this All-Inclusive Bob & Ruth's Gluten-free Cruise.   PLEASE CHECK OUT OUR WEBSITE FOR THE DETAILED INFORMATION THAT WE HAVE AS OF THIS TIME.   http://bobandruths.com
    • April 24, 2019 04:00 PM Until 08:00 AM
      0  
       
       
       
      Celiac Emotional Healing Support Group
       
       
       
      Again you are invited to join Johnny Patout, LCSW for Baton Rouge's first emotional healing support group meeting to assist those living with celiac disease manage the emotional challenges so many of us face. Most often the emotional disturbances include depression, disinterest in normal activities, insomnia, grief, mood changes, anxiety, inability to concentrate, extreme concern about managing a gluten-free lifestyle and other emotional and behavioral challenges.
       
      The professionals at Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center created the emotional healing support group to give us a safe place to begin to process our emotions and support each other as we heal emotionally while managing celiac disease and the resulting autoimmune disorders.
       
      The emotional healing support group meets every Thursday, 6:00-7:00pm, at the Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center of Baton Rouge. Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center is located at 4637 Jamestown Avenue, Baton Rouge, Suite B-1. Suite B-1 is upstairs.
       
      The support group is free and open everyone managing celiac disease. For more information: emotionalhealingforceliacs@hotmail.com
    • May 04, 2019 Until May 05, 2019
      0  
      Nourished Festival is a family-friendly event with 10 locations across the US. Attendees will be able to sample food, health and beauty products, meet with companies, learn about the most current food lifestyles, receive coupons and attend educational sessions with industry experts. 
      Nourished Festival, managed by The Nourished Group and presented by Enjoy Life Foods, is the largest gluten-free, allergy-friendly and specialty diet event in the US, with 10 locations including.
      ABOUT THE NOURISHED FESTIVALS
      Managed by The Nourished Group, formerly The Gluten Free Media Group, The Nourished Festivals are the largest and fastest growing special diet consumer events in the United States. Started in 2007, the events have expanded from one to ten cities throughout the country. The festivals cater to anyone looking to lead a healthier lifestyle or those who follow a specialty diet due to autoimmune conditions, food sensitivities, allergies or intolerances. Offerings including Paleo, Keto, Plant-Based, Gluten-Free, Allergen-Friendly and Nut-Free products. The events provide the opportunity for attendees to sample and purchase new products, receive coupons, meet with brand ambassadors and attend educational classes with industry experts. For more information, visit http://www.nourishedfestival.com 
       
×
×
  • Create New...