- Gluten-Free Grains and Flours
Gluten-Free Grains and Flours
The United Nations has declared 2016 as the "International Year of Pulses;" the dried, edible seeds of legume plants, which include things like pinto beans, kidney beans and navy beans; dry peas; lentils; and others.
Kansas wheat farmers are funding genetic research to figure out exactly why some people struggle to digest wheat, and to try to produce an wheat-friendly alternative.
Here's an interesting little article on the various types of flour commonly used in Indian cooking, including a number of gluten-free flours.
Can Nutrilac protein give manufacturers a way to make gluten-free products that are indistinguishable from products made with conventional flour?
Kansas farmers grow a lot of wheat. People with celiac disease avoid wheat like the plague. Not only are people with celiac disease avoiding wheat, but the vast majority of people who avoid wheat now do so for non-medical reasons.
Almost half of Americans eat no whole grains at all and those who do eat them only consume a single serving per day—far below the 3 to 5 daily servings recommended by the USDA. People often tell me, "I might eat more whole grains if I just knew which ones to choose and how to prepare them."
There have been claims that certain strains of wheat, especially ancient strains, such as einkorn, do not trigger adverse reactions in people with celiac disease, or that they trigger less severe reactions.
Could high-protein flour made out of crickets change the future of gluten-free foods? One company thinks so.
The people who grow wheat think they might have a solution for people with celiac disease: Genetically modified wheat.
Many people looking for gluten-free grains that pack a big punch turn to ancient grains like quinoa, sorghum, AND...teff, the ancient grain that is a staple in the Ethiopian culture.
Quinoa is a highly nutritious plant from the South America that is often recommended by doctors as part of a gluten-free diet. However, some laboratory data suggests that quinoa prolamins can trigger innate and adaptive immune responses in celiac patients, and thus might not be safe for celiacs to eat.
With so much conflicting information available today, it can be hard to tell what's gluten-free and what isn't. Here's the skinny on buckwheat.
Researchers at Washington State University say they are 'very close' to developing celiac-safe wheat strains.
People with celiac disease react to specific proteins in wheat, and a team of scientists from Washington State University are attempting to develop new varieties of wheat that suppress those proteins and are safe for people with celiac disease.
Recently, U.S. farmers have begun producing sorghum hybrids that are white in color, known as "food-grade" sorghum. In an effort to determine if these new hybrids are safe for people with celiac disease, a team of researchers set out to make a detailed molecular study.
Despite the fact that millet is more nutritious than wheat as well as other gluten-free grains, modern science lacks the processing technologies to manufacture it on a large scale. Millet is an age old grain which we have yet to harness the full potential of due to this draw back.
Can scientists create gluten-free wheat strains that are safe for people with celiac disease, and suitable for making bread? According to a team of researchers writing in the journal PNAS, the answer is 'yes.'
Buckwheat flour significantly improves the nutrition and texture in gluten-free breads, according to a new study published in the journal Food Hydrocolloids. The study examines the role of buckwheat and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC) in making gluten-free breads.
In an effort to expand the market for Kansas-grown sorghum, a professor at Kansas State University and a group of food science graduate students are conducting research into the use of sorghum in new gluten-free food products for people with celiac disease.
Quinoa is a highly nutritious grain from the Andes, with low concentrations of prolamins. Even though it is regularly recommended as part of a gluten-free diet, few studies have been done, and there is scant data to support this recommendation.