Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    






- - - - -

Vegan Not Really Vegan? Come On!

Posted by , in Milky Ramblings 21 August 2013 · 306 views

Frankly there should be a ban on labelling things vegan if they are made on shared equipment as non vegan food items. I bought some carob chips that had vegan written all over them. (Brand is Sunspire FYI). I swear I had read the allergen info at the store and saw no problem. But I also was tired and not feeling good, so it could easily have been one of those times when I saw, 'Vegan' and tossed them in the shopping cart. I don't honestly remember.
Anyway, so today, I thought, well hey, I need a snack. I grabbed a rice cake and the bag of carob chips that were supposedly vegan. Okay, so I flipped the bag over for whatever reason, and saw the allergen info. I quote 'CONTAINS: SOY. DUE TO SHARED EQUIPMENT, PRODUCT CONTAINS TRACES OF MILK.' How the hell is that vegan! I mean there was no, 'may contain' it was a certainly how they phrased it. Frankly, just because you don't add any products that are contrary to the vegan lifestyle doesn't mean its vegan. Its like saying, 'Oh this food item is gluten free because I didn't add flour to it.' Um no. Try again.
If anything, if you aren't worried about catering to the vegan lifestyle, cater to those with milk allergies. Don't put Vegan on a package if it contains milk. People who can't have dairy love vegan options because usually they are safe for them. No animals or their byproducts defines vegan. Vegan is not synonomous with vegetarian.

End of rant.

  • 0



March 2015

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Recent Entries

My Picture

0 user(s) viewing

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Tags

    Search My Blog

    Latest Visitors

    My Picture