Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

What About Balsamic Vinegar?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 wolffree

wolffree

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 July 2004 - 02:21 PM

I"m two days diagnosed with Gluten intolerance..and I"m amassing my list of good and bad. I'm not much of a sweets eater..but the biggest challenge i'm finding is replacing what I used to marinate my food in ...and my salad dressings.

I can't find anything about balsamic vinegar which I love. I find white vinegar..but not Balsamic..

HELP???

Teddi
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Kim

Kim

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts

Posted 10 July 2004 - 03:36 PM

Balsamic vinegar is fine -- it is gluten free.

Vinegar in general is fine -- including distilled vinegar. The only vinegar that is NOT okay is malt vinegar. That has gluten.

Welcome to the gluten free world.

also, you can marinate with gluten free soy sauce (last I checked, La Choy is gluten free as is San J). Most soy sauce does have wheat so you just have to check. You can also marinate in a ready-made gluten free Italian salad dressing (i.e., Paul Newman, Annie's, whatever your preference).

Kim.
  • 0

#3 tarnalberry

tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts

Posted 10 July 2004 - 05:46 PM

Actually, you'll want to check the ingredients of your balsamic. See... real balsamic is expensive (unless you live in Italy!), so _some_ (by no means all) companies add caramel and other flavorings to their balsamic vinegar. (Even then, it may be safe, but you'd want to check the company to verify it is a safe caramel - I think most in the US are (Can someone update me on this one?).) Getting unadulterated balsamic isn't hard, even in a mainstream grocery store in the US, but you'll want to check. If you've gotten real balsamico, then no worries at all, and happy eating!

(I brought back a backpack full of the real stuff from Italy, and while it nearly killed my back, at 7-10 Euro per 100ml bottle for the stuff that's at least three times the price or more here, I'm _so_ doing it again! :-) If you ever go to Modena, or are in that region of Italy, don't pass up the opportunity to get the good stuff they don't export.)
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#4 Kim

Kim

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts

Posted 11 July 2004 - 04:15 AM

Tiffany, it's interesting that you say they have additives. I've only ever seen pure balsamic. good to know. Kim.
  • 0

#5 gf4life

gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts

Posted 11 July 2004 - 12:54 PM

Balsamic Vinegar should be fine, but thank you Tiffany, for the heads up! :)

I had to comment on the San-J soy sauce. ONLY the wheat free Tamari types of San-J are gluten free. They list "wheat-free" on the label. Make sure you check. And if you have a choice of San-J or La Choy, San-J has a much better flavor.

God bless,
Mariann
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: