Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

College Student Question


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 shlomo

shlomo

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 25 August 2004 - 05:50 PM

an important question from a college student.... me
does beer contain gluten.... if so are there nongluten beers
any info is helpful info
thanks
~shlomo
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 GEF

GEF

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 238 posts

Posted 25 August 2004 - 05:55 PM

Welcome to the forum, Shlomo. In answer to your question... yes, beer contains gluten.

Now if there are any non-gluten beers, I'm uncertain. Some here might know, though.

Here's a previous post about the topic. Hope it helps!
http://www.glutenfre...&st=0

And as you probably already know, it's best to call the manufacturer to make sure their gluten-free status is current.

Gretchen
  • 0

#3 Guest_Lindam_*

Guest_Lindam_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 August 2004 - 03:00 AM

:D Hi Shlomo, Here's a post that I found about beer:

Gluten Free Honey Lager

The beer features a bright golden color and has an alcohol content of around 5.5%. To make a beer gluten-free, no barley or wheat is used. It includes honey notes and a touch of molasses in the flavor. Only "noble" hops are used for flavor and aroma. Brewed in dedicated fermenters using kosher yeast. We are
in the process of pricing and shipping costs. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us directly, GNSRSES@aol.com. You may contact us directly for shipping 1-845-369-7827.
Ramapo Valley Brewery
http://www.ramapovalleybrewery.com
We are located at 122 Orange Ave. Suffern, NY 10901

I hear it's kind of expensive, but if this is all we can drink as far as beer goes, I guess we'll pay it. I used to be an occasional beer drinker, but now have turned to wine. I can get it everywhere, and this beer can only be ordered (so I understand).

Good Luck, Let me know what you think.

Linda
  • 0

#4 astyanax

astyanax

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 169 posts

Posted 26 August 2004 - 04:42 AM

cider makes a great substitute for beer, especially at a college party where everyone is drinking beer. hornsby's is the only cider i've come across that is NOT gluten-free
  • 0
gXf since november 1998

#5 Sterndogg

Sterndogg

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts

Posted 26 August 2004 - 08:02 AM

There are a few gluten-free beers out there but not mainstream just yet. As a former beer drinker this is the thing I am having the most difficulty adjusting.

-Bard's Beer (http://www.bardsbeer.com) just recently launched a gluten-free beer but distribution is going to take some time.
-As mentioned Ramapo Valley Brewing (http://www.ramapovalleybrewery.com) also has a gluten-free beer. I've bought a few cases and it isn't too bad.
-Bi-Aglut, a beer in Italy which is gluten-free and while over there this past March I stopped into the Pharmacia (where it is sold) and ordered a few bottles. Interestingly, it is made by Heineken Italia, but marketed under the Heinz label. It is incredible and tastes very similiar to mainstream Heineken and uses buckwheat as the main ingredient. Unfortunately it is not availabe in the states. (http://www.biaglut.c...ra/default.aspx)
-In Quebec, the microbrewery La Messagère brewed by Nouvelle France Beers produces a gluten-free beer (http://www.baluchon.com/microbrewery)

Many hard ciders are gluten free including Strongbow, Magners, Woodchuck.

Heineken is on the fence...many posts regarding this beer and its "Gluten-Free" claim but I've had a few after being diagnosed and did not experience any symptoms and felt fine the next day. Even if I have a bit of Soy Sauce for example that contains wheat by accident, I'll immediately feel full and lousy. However I wouldn't go out and buy a keg of it.

Could always stick with the hard stuff...plenty of options there. However, I was a beer drinker in college but for me Celiac didn't surface until two years after graduation and after a trip to China visiting a former college buddy this past year. Picked up some nasty parasites and all of a sudden it got "turned-on." It's tough especially for beruit but you'll make it with the cider, wine, or hard booze options.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: